You are here

Tom Morello to release Nightwatchman 'Union Town' EP on May 17

Tom Morello to release Nightwatchman 'Union Town' EP on May 17

The Nightwatchman -- aka guitarist Tom Morello -- will release Union Town, an eight-song EP, digitally on May 17 with a physical CD and vinyl release to follow on July 19. All profits from the EP will benefit The America Votes Labor Unity Fund via

This forthcoming release by Morello, an original member of Rage Against the Machine and Audioslave, will feature eight pro-union songs. It will include three Morello originals, plus the Woody Guthrie classic, “This Land Is Your Land,” which will include more radical, often-censored verses.

On Feb. 21, Morello performed at the Capitol Square in Madison, Wisconsin, to protest an anti-union bill put forward by Gov. Scott Walker. To read Morello’s editorial about his experience, “Frostbite and Freedom: Tom Morello on the Battle of Madison,” visit

Check out the video for "Union Town" here.

The title track from the Union Town EP is available now at On the heels of Union Town, Morello, as The Nightwatchman, will release his third full-length solo album, World Wide Rebel Songs. this summer via New West Records.

"Performing in Madison, Wisconsin, and seeing 100,000 people in the streets demanding justice inspired me to record an album of union fighting songs," Morello said. "I've been a proud union man for 22 years and my mom was a union public high school teacher, so for me this fight is very personal. Unions are a crucial counterweight to the raw corporate greed that torpedoed our economy, threatens our environment and wants to strip away decades of social progress. From Cairo to Madison, workers are pushing back and tyrants are falling. Here's a soundtrack for our fight."

The America Votes Labor Unity Fund supports the unified efforts of a coalition of national labor organizations. For more information, visit

Why Marty Stuart Is the Heart and Soul of True Country Music