Skip to main content

Mutual Benefit Announces 2014 Tour and New Album, 'Love's Crushing Diamond'

Love's Crushing Diamond, the debut album by Mutual Benefit, aka the amorphous project of Jordan Lee's sometimes one-man-band, sometimes sprawling collective, is a powerful and heartfelt record of lush, watery, pop songs, inspired by the kinetic energy, goodbyes, and blurred landscapes of life on the road as Lee moved throughout the last several years from Ohio to Austin to Boston, and most recently, Brooklyn.

The songs present Lee's gentle and beautiful voice as the centerpiece surrounded by a mix of lush studio productions, featuring keys, guitar, violin and banjo, clattering homemade percussion and found sounds, resulting in an instantly inviting blend of high and low fidelity. While the album is certainly Lee's brainchild, the recordings are very much a collaborative effort featuring contributions by friends and others met along the way.

After sharing album tracks "Advanced Falconry" and "'Let's Play' / Statue of a Man," Other Music Recording Co. offers another window into the lucid, sonorous world of Lee and his chosen collaborators via "Golden Wake." Flecked with a befitting autumnal hue, the delicate orchestration hints at both a rare sincerity and the emergence of a strikingly defined new voice. As such, "Golden Wake" is yet another example of Lee's soft-voiced insistence and a worldview cracked just enough so the light pours through.

Mutual Benefit will tour North America in January and February 2014. The live band will feature Jordan (guitar, synths, vocals), his sister, Whitney Lee (vocals, synth), plus a bassist, guitarist and percussionist/vocalist. The initial dates are below and more will be added.

Love's Crushing Diamond will be available on CD on December 3rd (January 13th in the UK/Europe), and on LP on January 7th. The album is available digitally now. Additionally, Other Music will be selling the last remaining 50 copies of the original Soft Eyes' 250-LP pressing of Love's Crushing Diamond at their Manhattan store as part of Record Store Day's Black Friday celebration on November 29th.


  • Mon. Dec. 2 - New York, NY @ Other Music NYC [Album Release Party]
  • Mon. Jan. 13 - Boston, MA @ Great Scott
  • Tue. Jan. 14 - Montreal, QC @ Il Motore
  • Wed. Jan. 15 - Toronto, ON @ Drake Underground
  • Sat. Jan. 18 - Minneapolis, MN @ Turf Club
  • Wed. Jan. 22 - Seattle, WA @ Barboza
  • Sat. Jan. 25 - San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
  • Tue. Jan. 28 - Los Angeles, CA @ Centre for the Arts - Eagle Rock
  • Wed. Jan. 29 - Phoenix, AZ @ Rhythm Room
  • Sat. Feb. 1 - Houston, TX @ Fitzgeralds (downstairs)
  • Mon. Feb. 3 - Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
  • Tue. Feb. 4 - Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506
  • Thu. Feb. 6 - Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
  • Fri. Feb. 7 - New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge
  • Sat. Feb. 8 - Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade

Find out more at

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Acoustic Nation is written by Laura B. Whitmore, a music industry marketing veteran, music journalist and editor, who has contributed to (opens in new tab), Guitar World, and others. She has interviewed hundreds of musicians and hosts the She Rocks Podcast. As the founder of the Women’s International Music Network (opens in new tab), she advocates for women in the music industry and produces the annual She Rocks Awards. She is the Senior Vice President of Marketing for Positive Grid, making the world safe for guitar exploration everywhere! A guitarist and singer/songwriter, Laura is currently co-writing an album of pop songs that empower and energize girls.