Bring Me the Horizon Guitarist Calls It Quits

Bring Me the Horizon guitarist Jona Weinhofen has officially announced his departure from U.K. metalcore act Bring Me the Horizon. Weinhofen, who has been with the band since 2009, delivered the news via his Twitter feed earlier today:

"I am no longer a member of @bmthofficial, however I can not yet comment on the reasons why or who made the decision."

Weinhofen's announcement comes on the eve of the band's forthcoming fourth CD, Sempiternal, which is due out April 30 on Epitaph records.

Bring Me the Horizon, which includes Oliver Sykes (vocals), Matt Kean (bass), Lee Malia (guitar), Matt Nicholls (drums) and Jordan Fish (keyboards), have not yet elaborated on the reason for Weinhofen's departure or provided any info on who will be replacing him.

We'll keep you posted on this story as we receive new information.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Brad is a Brooklyn-based writer, editor and video producer. He is the former content director of Revolver magazine and executive editor of Guitar World. His work has appeared in Vice, Guitar Aficionado, Inked and more. He’s also a die-hard Les Paul player who wishes he never sold his 1987 Marshall Silver Jubilee half stack.