David Gilmour Royal Albert Hall DVD Due Sept. 18

One critic described David Gilmour's On an Island Royal Albert Hall concert as "a near-perfect gig, where the magic kept coming, as did the surprises."

Now fans who may have missed Gilmour's 2006 tour will get a chance to share in that magic with the release of Remember That Night—Live at the Royal Albert Hall, a double DVD commemorating Gilmour's highly acclaimed SRO tour. Lasting more than five hours, Remember That Nightincludes Gilmour's London concert—featuring special guest appearances from David Bowie, Robert Wyatt, David Crosby and Graham Nash—plus nearly three hours of extras, notably a revelatory fly-on-the-wall documentary following Gilmour and his band on tour. A 20-page booklet accompanies the DVD.

Gilmour's two-and-a-half-hour concert features band members Richard Wright of Pink Floyd, Phil Manzanera of Roxy Music, new band member Steve DiStanislao on drums, plus Pink Floyd regulars Dick Parry, Guy Pratt and Jon Carin.

In addition, Gilmour will premiere an 85-minute theatrical version of Remember That Night—Live at the Royal Albert Hall to 111 movie theaters on Saturday, September 15 at 3 p.m. Eastern/Noon Pacific. This exclusive, one-time event will also include a one song live performance by David Gilmour prior to the concert and end with a special question and answer session—both live via satellite from London.

Disc 1 of Remember That Night includes Gilmour's critically acclaimed concert featuring songs from his #1 U.K. chart-topping album On an Island as well as Pink Floyd classics such as "High Hopes," "Shine on You Crazy Diamond," "Comfortably Numb" and the first filmed performance (since Pink Floyd's Live at Pompeii) of the epic 20-minute tour de force, "Echoes."

Disc 2 is packed with rarities and previously unreleased material including "Breaking Bread, Drinking Wine," a 46-minute road movie filmed during the 2006 tour. Allowing fans a unique "seat on the tour bus," "Breaking Bread, Drinking Wine" gives viewers a rare glimpse of David Gilmour, his band and crew enjoying and enduring the highs and the lows of life on tour: from flashfloods, a collapsing stage, a Russian wine-glass player, and problems with German trains!

Other DVD extras include bonus tracks from the Royal Albert Hall, Gilmour's first-ever performance of the Syd Barrett classic "Dark Globe," "Astronomy Domine" live from Abbey Road, and the AOL sessions recorded while on tour in L.A. Five songs from the BBC Mermaid Theatre concert are also on Disc 2, along with a five-minute documentary shot on tour in L.A. The DVD also includes a photo gallery featuring the tour crew, shot by tour photographer Polly Samson.

Remember That Night—Live at the Royal Albert Hall comes with a 20-page booklet featuring more than 80 photos selected from studio recording, touring, and time off. It will be available in standard DVD, HD-DVD and Blu-ray Disc formats.


Disc One – Live at the Royal Albert Hall
1. Speak to Me
2. Breathe
3. Time
4. Breathe (Reprise)
5. Castellorizon
6. On an Island (featuring Crosby & Nash)
7. The Blue (featuring Crosby & Nash)
8. Red Sky at Night
9. This Heaven
10. Then I Close My Eyes (featuring Robert Wyatt)
11. Smile
12. Take a Breath
13. A Pocketful of Stones
14. Where We Start
15. Shine On You Crazy Diamond (featuring Crosby & Nash)
16. Fat Old Sun
17. Coming Back to Life
18. High Hopes
19. Echoes
20. Wish You Were Here
21. Find the Cost of Freedom (featuring Crosby & Nash)
22. Arnold Layne (featuring David Bowie)
23. Comfortably Numb (featuring David Bowie)

Disc Two – Bonus Features
Performances from the Royal Albert Hall:
1. Wot's… Uh the Deal
2. Dominoes
3. Wearing the Inside Out (featuring Richard Wright)
4. Arnold Layne (featuring Richard Wright)
5. Comfortably Numb (featuring Richard Wright)
Documentary: Breaking Bread, Drinking Wine
Performance from the Summer Tour 2006: Dark Globe
Recorded at Abbey Road Studios: Astronomy Domine
Performance from the AOL Sessions: This Heaven
Performances from the BBC Mermaid Theatre concert:
1. Castellorizon
2. On an Island
3. The Blue
4. Take a Breath
5. High Hopes
Documentary: The Making of “On an Island”
Documentary: The West Coast
Music Videos: 1. On An Island 2. Smile
Bonus Track: Island Jam 2007
Photo Gallery

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.