Skip to main content

Exclusive Lesson Video: Dropkick Murphys — "The Boys Are Back"

In the exclusive lesson video below, James Lynch, Tim Brennan and Jeff DaRosa from Dropkick Murphys show you how to play "The Boys Are Back," the opening track from their new album, Signed and Sealed in Blood.

The album will be released January 8 on the band's own Born & Bred Records label.

The disc, which was produced by Ted Hutt, was recorded May through July of this year at Q Division Studios in Somerville, Massachusetts. Check out the complete track listing — and the lesson video, of course — below.

Keep up with Dropkick Murphys at their official website and Facebook page.

Signed and Sealed in Blood Track Listing: "The Boys Are Back" / "Prisoner's Song" / "Rose Tattoo" / "Burn" / "Jimmy Collin's Wake" / "The Season's Upon Us" / "The Battle Rages On" / "Don't Tear Us Apart" / "My Hero" / "Out on the Town" / "Out of Our Heads" / "End of the Night."

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Damian Fanelli

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor, and his non-Pulitzer-Prize-winning stories have appeared in Guitar Aficionado, Vintage Guitar, Total Guitar and countless other publications, including 13.7 metric tons of daily newspapers. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton and Ty Tabor chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (one of which appears in the 2015 Disney film 'Tomorrowland' starring George Clooney and Britt Robertson). He's in two NYC-area bands and plays Teles with four-way switches, B-benders and semi-snazzy aftermarket pickups. He quotes Terry-Thomas twice daily.