Arch Enemy announce new CD title and release date

Arch Enemy have completed work on their new album. The new disc, Rise of the Tyrant, is the follow-up to 2005's Doomsday Machine, the band's most successful album to date. They have once again enlisted the duties of acclaimed producer Fredrik Nordström (Dimmu Borgir, In Flames) at Sweden's Studio Fredman, where the band recorded all of their albums through Wages of Sin (2001). Look for Rise of The Tyrant everywhere on Sept. 25 and see below for its track listing.

Arch Enemy guitarist Michael Amott comments on the new album and the upcoming touring activities as follows: “To all Arch Enemy fans! So how does it sound, you ask? Well, I am of the opinion that we have made the 'ultimate Arch Enemy album!' To me, this album sounds like the perfect mix of melody and brutality. This album is a an organic and honest statement from the band-it's pure f**king metal at its absolute best, the Arch Enemy way.

“Fredrik Nordström did a killer mix on the record-the sound is big and intense! This album has everything that Arch Enemy represents in my mind. I can't wait to release it and play these songs live for you, the fans! Actually, we have to start rehearsing at some point this summer. We will be playing a couple of festivals in the U.K. (Bloodstock) and Germany (Up from the Ground). These will be the first shows with my brother Christopher (Amott, guitar) back in the band! We also have to work out how to play these new songs, so we will have a very busy summer with Arch Enemy, that's for certain!

“The touring plan for Arch Enemy will start full on after the summer, and we can confirm we will joining the European Black Crusade tour package with Machine Head, Trivium, Dragonforce and Shadows Fall-yeah, that's a pretty impressive tour. Equally exciting for us is the Australian Black Crusade tour, which we will be doing with Trivium and Machine Head.

“Lot's of other cool touring ideas are flying around at the moment-looks like we also might be visiting places on this planet where Arch Enemy has not yet had the pleasure of playing. Let the madness begin.”

Rise of the Tyrant track listing:

  • 1. Blood on Your Hands
  • 2. The Last Enemy
  • 3. I Will Live Again
  • 4. In This Shallow Grave
  • 5. Revolution Begins
  • 6. Rise of the Tyrant
  • 7. The Day You Died
  • 8. Intermezzo Liberté
  • 9. Night Falls Fast
  • 10. The Great Darkness
  • 11. Vultures

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.