Danzig’s Lost Tracks Coming May 29

On May 29, evilive will release The Lost Tracks of Danzig, a two-CD set comprised of 26 previously unreleased tracks that span Danzig's entire career. All of the tracks were recorded during the band's seven-album "arc" that began with 1988's Danzig.

"Whenever I've made a new album, I've recorded more songs than were needed for the final CD," says Glenn Danzig. "The songs that make it onto the final album 'fit' or 'flow' together as a whole. Consequently, some tremendous Danzig songs have never been released, not because they weren't great, but because they didn't fit the overall vibe of the particular album, or for other reasons."

When Glenn began the Lost Tracks project, the songs were in various stages of completion—some were still in demo form, some had no vocals, some needed a different mix, a new bass or guitar track, or some other type of tweaking. So, after spending months tracking down and reviewing the original tapes, Glenn entered the studio and completed the tracks, handling the vocals and finishing all instrumental recording himself.

The 26 songs on The Lost Tracks of Danzig are presented in chronological order; the first two cuts are "Pain Like an Animal" and "When Death Had No Name," both songs that have their roots in late Samhain but evolved into two of the very first Danzig tracks and intended for the band's self-titled debut. Fans will also find a song entitled "Angels of the Seventh Dawn," originally recorded for the 1990 album Danzig II: Lucifuge, "Crawl Across Your Killing Floor," considered for Danzig 6: Satan's Child, and the controversial "White Devil Rise," which was recorded for 1994's Danzig 4p and is Glenn's conjecture as to what would happen if Louis Farrakhan incited the passive white race to rise up against and start a race war with the Black Islamic movement.

Danzig also liked to include cover songs on his albums, so The Lost Tracks will feature T-Rex's "Buick McKane" (1992's Danzig III: How the Gods Kill), David Bowie's "Cat People" (Danzig 7), and "Caught in My Eye" by the Germs (Danzig 6). The Lost Tracks will also feature a sparse acoustic version of "Come to Silver," a song that Glenn originally wrote for Johnny Cash (who reportedly loved it), then recorded it (with Jerry Cantrell on guitar) for 1996's Danzig 5: Blackacidevil.

The Lost Tracks of Danzig will also contain a special 12-page booklet with a forward personally written by Glenn Danzig, a sentence or two with the history or an anecdote for each track, and plenty of vintage photos.

The complete track listing for The Lost Tracks of Danzig is as follows:

  • Pain Is Like An Animal
  • When Death Had No Name
  • Angel of the Seventh Dawn
  • You Should be Dying
  • Cold, Cold Rain
  • Buick McKane
  • When Death Had No Name
  • Satan’s Crucifiction
  • The Mandrake's Cry
  • White Devil Rise
  • Come to Silver (Acoustic)
  • Deep
  • Warlok

Lick the Blood Off My Hands
Crawl Across Your Killing Floor
I Know Your Lie
Caught In My Eye
Cat People
Bound by Blood
Who Claims the Soulless
Soul Eater
Dying Seraph
Lady Lucifera
Under Belly of the Beast
Unspeakable Shango Mix

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.