Skip to main content

Return To Forever IV Announce 32-City US Summer and Fall Tour

Return To Forever will debut a new lineup on their 32-city US tour this summer and fall.

The lineup -- AKA Return To Forever IV (RTF IV) -- includes Chick Corea (keyboards), Stanley Clarke (bass) and Lenny White (drums) with Mahavishnu Orchestra alum and violin virtuoso Jean-Luc Ponty and guitarist Frank Gambale.

Zappa Plays Zappa, the musical tribute to Frank Zappa that features Dweezil Zappa, will join the bill.

Their ever-evolving set list encompasses an amalgam of Return To Forever classics, highlights from each member’s solo repertoire and brand-new songs written for the RTF IV lineup. You can check out recent set lists here.

“Since all the guys in the band are such good composers, I wanted to have everyone’s compositions add to the new RTF IV vibe," Corea said. "So we all agreed: Let’s open it up — which is the way we like it, and I think the way the fans like it too.”

Return To Forever/Zappa Plays Zappa Summer/Fall Tour 2011:

Image 1 of 5

Image 2 of 5

Image 3 of 5

Image 4 of 5

Image 5 of 5

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Damian Fanelli

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor, and his non-Pulitzer-Prize-winning stories have appeared in Guitar Aficionado, Vintage Guitar, Total Guitar and countless other publications, including 13.7 metric tons of daily newspapers. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton and Ty Tabor chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (one of which appears in the 2015 Disney film 'Tomorrowland' starring George Clooney and Britt Robertson). He's in two NYC-area bands and plays Teles with four-way switches, B-benders and semi-snazzy aftermarket pickups. He quotes Terry-Thomas twice daily.