Ultimate Metal Collection Coming from Rhino

On October 2, Rhino will release The Heavy Metal Box, featuring 70 songs from the golden age of metal, between 1968 and 1991. Four-disc set will include music from Iron Maiden, Deep Purple, Metallica, Judas Priest, Black Sabbath, Iron Butterfly, Pantera, Alice Cooper, Venom, Testament, Motorhead, Slayer, Rush, Megadeth, Kiss and others.

The Heavy Metal Box Box will be available October 2 at all retail outlets and atrhino.com for a suggested price of $64.98. The set will be offered in limited edition packing that resembles an amplifier. In a nod to Spinal Tap-whose song "Big Bottom" is included in the set-the faux-amp box features an authentic, turn-able Marshall knob allowing you to literally turn it up to 11.

Arranged chronologically, the compilation gathers 70 choice selections from various record labels tracing the evolution of metal during its first golden age between 1968 and 1991. The Heavy Metal Box presents more than five hours of blistering fury guaranteed to send devil horn salutes in the air.

The genre's progenitors get their due with the supreme heaviness of Iron Butterfly's "In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida" and the hoodlum metal mania of Blue Cheer's cover of "Summertime Blues." "From that point on," renowned metal journalist Mick Wall writes in the boxed set's meticulous liner notes, "the floodgates were thrown wide open as a whole slew of next-generation rock bands, disenchanted by the empty promises of the so-called love generation, arrived like drunken, rabble-rousing gate-crashers at the party, intent on ripping up the rulebook, throwing love out the window - along with all the flowers-and replacing them with a distinctly unsettling ambience all their own. From here on in, rock music would no longer be a dance. It would be an arena to do battle in."

Along with Wall's detailed history of metal, the boxed set's exhaustive liner notes also include rare photos, a track-by-track commentary, Ronnie James Dio discussing metal's infamous mano cornuta salute (a.k.a. "the Horns"), Lita Ford reflecting on her role as the "first lady of metal," multiple artist tributes, and more.

The Heavy Metal Box Track Listing

  • Disc 1
  • 1. "In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida" -- Iron Butterfly
  • 2. "Summertime Blues" -- Blue Cheer
  • 3. "Easy Livin" -- Uriah Heep
  • 4. "Highway Star" -- Deep Purple
  • 5. "Billion Dollar Babies" -- Alice Cooper
  • 6. "Lost Johnny" -- Hawkwind
  • 7. "Bad Motor Scooter" -- Montrose
  • 8. "Working Man" -- Rush
  • 9. "Man on the Silver Mountain" -- Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow
  • 10. "Detroit Rock City" -- Kiss
  • 11. "The Ripper" -- Judas Priest
  • 12. "Cat Scratch Fever" -- Ted Nugent
  • 13. "Lights Out" -- UFO
  • 14. "Godzilla" -- Blue Oyster Cult
  • 15. "Demolition Boys" -- Girlschool
  • 16. "White Witch" -- Angel Witch
  • 17. "The Phantom of the Opera" -- Iron Maiden
  • 18. "Neon Knights" -- Black Sabbath

Disc 2
1. "Ace of Spades" -- Motorhead
2. "Am I Evil?" -- Diamond Head
3. "Nice Boys" -- Rose Tattoo
4. "Attack of the Mad Axeman" -- Michael Schenker Group
5. "Denim and Leather" -- Saxon
6. "Blitzkrieg" -- Blitzkrieg
7. "Gangland" -- Tygers Of Pan Tang
8. "Witching Hour" -- Venom
9. "You've Got Another Thing Comin'" -- Judas Priest
10. "The Number of the Beast" -- Iron Maiden
11. "Star War" -- Raven
12. "Say What You Will" -- Fastway
13. "Black Funeral" -- Mercyful Fate
14. "Animal (F**k Like A Beast)" -- W.A.S.P.
15. "Mean Streak" -- Y&T
16. "Holy Diver" -- Dio
17. "Queen of the Reich" -- Queensryche
18. "Whiplash" -- Metallica

Disc 3
1. "Rock You Like a Hurricane" -- Scorpions
2. "Metal Health" -- Quiet Riot
3. "Into the Fire" -- Dokken
4. "Balls to the Wall" -- Accept
5. "Round and Round" -- Ratt
6. "I Wanna Rock" -- Twisted Sister
7. "The Boulevard of Broken Dreams" -- Hanoi Rocks
8. "Big Bottom" -- Spinal Tap
9. "Midnite Maniac" -- Krokus
10. "I'll See the Light, Tonight" -- Yngwie J. Malmsteen's Rising Force
11. "Crazy Nights" -- Loudness
12. "Shake Me" -- Cinderella
13. "Watch the Children Pray" -- Metal Church
14. "To Hell with the Devil" -- Stryper
15. "A Little Time" -- Helloween
16. "Wrecking Crew" -- Overkill
17. "Caught in a Mosh" -- Anthrax
18. "Peace Sells" -- Megadeth

Disc 4
1. "Still of the Night" -- Whitesnake
2. "Rock Me" -- Great White
3. "Talk Dirty to Me" -- Poison
4. "Bathroom Wall" -- Faster Pussycat
5. "Hall of the Mountain King" -- Savatage
6. "Kiss Me Deadly" -- Lita Ford
7. "Hail and Kill" -- Manowar
8. "Trial By Fire" -- Testament
9. "Welcome Home" -- King Diamond
10. "South of Heaven" -- Slayer
11. "One" -- Metallica
12. "Cult of Personality" -- Living Colour
13. "Youth Gone Wild" -- Skid Row
14. "Cowboys from Hell" -- Pantera
15. "Beg to Differ" -- Prong
16. "Dead Embryonic Cells" -- Sepultura

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.