'Eric Clapton: Life in 12 Bars' Soundtrack Album Announced

A soundtrack album for the Showtime documentary, Eric Clapton: Life in 12 Bars has been announced. The 2-CD, 4-LP set features 32 tracks from across Clapton's long career.

Eric Clapton: Life in 12 Bars features recordings with Cream, Blind Faith, Derek and the Dominos, The Beatles, The Yardbirds, Aretha Franklin, George Harrison and Muddy Waters, along with a number of selections from Clapton's solo career.

Five of the album's 32 tracks are previously unreleased, including the full-length version of Clapton's hit cover of Bob Marley's "I Shot the Sheriff."

Eric Clapton: Life in 12 Bars is set for a June 8 release via Universal. You can preorder it right here, and watch the trailer for the documentary below.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Jackson Maxwell

Jackson is an Associate Editor at GuitarWorld.com. He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.