Jeff Beck Previews New DVD/CD, 'Live at the Hollywood Bowl'

(Image credit: Charlie Crowhurst/Getty Images)

Last summer, Jeff Beck celebrated his 50 years in music (it was actually more than 50 years at that point; let's not forget the Tridents) with a high-profile show at the Hollywood Bowl.

The night turned out to be extra special because it featured guest appearances by Steven Tyler, Billy Gibbons, Jan Hammer, Beth Hart, Jimmy Hall and Buddy Guy—not to mention a killer set list that was custom made for longtime fans.

That performance is now headed to DVD/Blu-ray and CD, courtesy of Eagle Rock Entertainment. Live at the Hollywood Bowl will be released October 6—and you can check out an entertaining (and all too brief) preview clip below.

Beck's Hollywood Bowl set revisited several often-neglected corners of his long and varied career; it included versions of the Yardbirds' “For Your Love” (the original version of which features Eric Clapton on guitar), “Over Under Sideways Down,” "Heart Full of Soul" and "Train Kept A’Rollin’," plus his early solo material (“Beck’s Bolero,” "Rice Pudding"/"Morning Dew," his 1968 version of the Yardbirds' "Shapes of Things"), his Seventies and Eighties masterpieces ("Freeway Jam," "‘Cause We’ve Ended As Lovers," "Big Block") and beyond, right on up to his latest album, 2016's Loud Hailer.

The show climaxed with all the guests delivering a stirring performance of “Purple Rain” as a tribute to Prince, who had died just a few months before the show.

You can see the complete track listing below.

Note: A special DVD+3LP version of Live at the Hollywood Bowl is available for pre-order exclusively through PledgeMusic ($49.99). Get the details here.


  • 1. The Revolution Will Be Televised
  • 2. Over Under Sideways Down
  • 3. Heart Full of Soul
  • 4. For Your Love
  • 5. Beck’s Bolero
  • 6. Rice Pudding/Morning Dew
  • 7. Freeway Jam
  • 8. You Never Know
  • 9. ‘Cause We’ve Ended As Lovers
  • 10. Star Cycle
  • 11. Blue Wind
  • 12. Big Block
  • 13. I’d Rather Go Blind
  • 14. Let Me Love You
  • 15. Live in the Dark
  • 16. Scared for the Children
  • 17. Rough Boy
  • 18. Train Kept A’Rollin’
  • 19. Shapes of Things
  • 20. A Day in the Life
  • 21. Purple Rain

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.