Skip to main content

Johnny Marr Releases "Upstarts" Music Video

Johnny Marr, the former Smiths, Cribs and Modest Mouse guitarist, has posted a new music video for "Upstarts," a track off his upcoming solo album, The Messenger.

The album, which marks Marr's solo debut, will be released February 26 by Sire/ADA.

Marr will hit the road on a solo tour of the UK in March. Dates in the US and elsewhere will be announced soon.

[[ Keep up with Guitar World's NAMM 2013 coverage right here! ]]

The 12-song collection (See the track listing below) was written and produced entirely by Marr. It was recorded in Manchester and Berlin and mastered at Abbey Road by Frank Artwright, who collaborated with Marr on the re-mastering work for the Smiths' box set, Complete.

The album is available for pre-order at iTunes here. For more about Marr, visit his official website.

The Messenger track listing:

  • 01. The Right Thing Right
  • 02. I Want The Heartbeat
  • 03. European Me
  • 04. Upstarts
  • 05. Lockdown
  • 06. The Messenger
  • 07. Generate! Generate!
  • 08. Say Demesne
  • 09. Sun & Moon
  • 10. The Crack Up
  • 11. New Town Velocity
  • 12. Word Starts Attack
Damian Fanelli

Damian is editor-in-chief of Guitar World magazine. From 1998 to 2014, he was one third of Mister Neutron, an instrumental rock act that toured the universe and elsewhere and released three albums via Austin-based Deep Eddy Records. These days he performs with several New York City-area bands and can often be spotted with one of his many, many, many B-bender-equipped guitars. In past lives he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor – and he still can’t believe he got to write the liner notes for the latest SRV box set.