Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band Premiere New Song, "Baby Got Gone"

(Image credit: Press Photo (Provided))

Today we've gotten together with the Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band to premiere “Baby Got Gone,” the first single from their highly anticipated new album, Lay It On Down, which will be released August 4 via Concord Records.

The explosive, chugging track sports a catchy riff (head directly to the seventh fret, gang) and a king-size helping of Shepherd's trademark roots-rocking fireworks.

The album, which was recorded at Echophone Studios in Shepherd’s hometown of Shreveport, Louisiana, and produced by Shepherd and Marshall Altman, was largely recorded live in the studio to analog tape.

Shepherd’s band on Lay It On Down features his long-time lead vocalist Noah Hunt, the rhythm section from the Rides, bassist Kevin McCormick and drummer Chris Layton (Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble), plus keyboardist Jimmy McGorman.

“I’m proud of the album we have delivered to the fans, and I think they'll be excited by what they hear,” Shepherd says. “The band we’ve assembled did a fantastic job bringing these songs to life and conveying the musical message to the listener. Now we are looking forward to bringing this new music to the live show to watch it develop even more.”

For more about Lay It On Down, check out the video trailer below and stay tuned for more details.

Shepherd and the band will kick off a U.S. tour on August 9. You can check out all the dates—plus the album's full track listing—below.

For more about the Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band, visit

1. Baby Got Gone
2. Diamonds & Gold
3. Nothing But the Night
4. Lay It on Down
5. She’s $$$
6. Hard Lesson Learned
7. Down for Love
8. How Low Can You Go
9. Louisiana Rain
10. Ride of Your Life

August 9 Westbury, NY The Space at Westbury
August 10 Albany, NY The Egg
August 11 Northfield, OH Hard Rock Live
August 12 Peoria, IL Riverfront Park
August 14 Annapolis, MD Rams Head on Stage
August 15 Annapolis, MD Rams Head on Stage
August 16 Morristown, NJ Mayo Performing Arts Center
August 18 Portland, ME Aura
August 19 Northampton, MA Calvin Theatre
August 20 Derry, NH Tupelo Music Hall
August 22 Bar Harbor, ME Criterion Theatre
August 23 Ridgefield, CT Ridgefield Playhouse
August 25 Harrisburg, PA Whitaker Center
August 26 E. Providence, RI Bold Point Park

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.