Rolling Stones Tease New Cover of Little Walter's "Just Your Fool"

(Image credit: Mauricio Santana/Getty Images)

Amid all the news coverage of the Rolling Stones' latest album announcement, the band quietly posted a one-minute-long snippet of their new single, "Just Your Fool," last night.

The song, which you can hear below, was originally written and recorded in 1960 by Chicago bluesman Little Walter. The recording is stipped down and devoid of frills, truly capturing the band in a "live in the studio" setting.

"Just Your Fool" is available for purchase at iTunes. The rest of the album—which is titled Blue & Lonesome—is scheduled to be released December 2, but it's available now for preorder.

Blue & Lonesome is the album a lot of longtime Stones fans have been waiting for. Its 12 tracks, which were recorded in just three days at London's British Grove Studios, are covers of classic blues songs by Howlin' Wolf ("Commit a Crime"), Little Walter ("I Gotta Go") and Jimmy Reed ("Little Rain") and several more. Eric Clapton appears on two tracks, covers of Little Johnny Taylor's "Everybody Knows About My Good Thing" and Otis Rush's "I Can't Quit You Baby."

"It was fun – always is," Keith Richards told Rolling Stone several months ago when discussing the Blue & Lonesome sessions. At the time, he claimed the album would contain "a lot of Chicago blues." He wasn't kidding. You can check out the complete track list below.

Blue & Lonesome Track List

1. "Just Your Fool" (Little Walter)
2. "Commit a Crime" (Howlin’ Wolf)
3. "Blue and Lonesome" (Little Walter)
4. "All of Your Love" (Magic Sam)
5. "I Gotta Go" (Little Walter)
6. "Everybody Knows About My Good Thing" (Little Johnny Taylor) with Eric Clapton
7. "Ride ‘Em on Down" (Eddie Taylor)
8. "Hate to See You Go" (Little Walter)
9. "Hoo Doo Blues" (Lightnin’ Slim)
10. "Little Rain" (Jimmy Reed)
11. "Just Like I Treat You" (Willie Dixon/Howlin’ Wolf)
12. "I Can’t Quit You Baby" (Willie Dixon/Otis Rush) with Eric Clapton

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.