Exclusive DVD Preview: The Making of The Aristocrats' 'Culture Clash,' with Guthrie Govan, Bryan Beller and Marco Minnemann

Today, GuitarWorld.com presents an exclusive video by the Aristocrats, an instrumental rock/fusion trio featuring guitarist Guthrie Govan, bassist Bryan Beller and drummer Marco Minnemann.

The band's second album, Culture Clash, will be released July 16 via BOING Music.

The deluxe version of the album will include a bonus DVD called Accept The Mystery: The Making Of The Aristocrats' Culture Clash. You can check out our exclusive preview of that DVD below. The 33-minute documentary was shot in Nashville while the Aristocrats were recording Culture Clash in January.

“There's something that happens when the three of us get together in a room. It happened in the first rehearsal, it happened in the first gig, and it definitely happens in the studio,” Beller said. “That's why, even though we live thousands of miles and an ocean apart, we always make records in the same room as opposed to remote file-swapping.

"This time we were fueled by 18 months on the road together as opposed to just one hot gig, and I think fans will really see the difference in the studio and interview footage on the bonus DVD.”

Govan added: “All the time we spent together as a band touring and gigging together and interacting has made us bolder in terms of the kind of material we've dared to write for this album. I think there's some wackier stuff that we maybe wouldn't have submitted for the first album when we didn't know each other as well.”

The Aristocrats have announced several July and August US tour dates, which you can see below the exclusive video. For more about the band, visit their official website and Facebook page.

The Aristocrats' Culture Clash US Tour Dates:

  • 7/17 Nashville TN @ Douglas Corner
  • 7/19 Tampa FL @ Brass Mug
  • 7/20 Orlando FL @ West End Trading Company
  • 7/21 Jacksonville FL @ 1904 Music Hall
  • 7/23 Atlanta GA @ Atlanta Institute of Music (clinic/show)
  • 7/24 Atlanta GA @Masquerade (Purgatory Room)
  • 7/25 Charlotte NC @ Tremont Music Hall (Casbah)
  • 7/26 Raleigh NC @ Pour House Music Hall
  • 7/27 Washington DC @ Jammin Java
  • 7/29 Boston MA @ Berklee College of Music (clinic)
  • 7/30 Boston MA @ Berklee Performance Center (concert)
  • 7/31 Wilkes-Barre PA @ River St. Jazz Cafe
  • 8/1 New York City NY @ Highline Ballroom
  • 8/2 Philadelphia PA @ North Star Bar
  • 8/3 Dunellen NJ @ New Jersey Proghouse
  • 8/6 Pittsburgh PA @ Hard Rock Cafe
  • 8/7 Cleveland OH @ Beachland Tavern
  • 8/8 Columbus OH @ Rumba Café
  • 8/9 Cincinnati OH @ Southgate House Revival
  • 8/10 Charleston WV @ Empty Glass
  • 8/12 Detroit MI @ Token Lounge
  • 8/13 Indianapolis IN @ Birdy's
  • 8/14 Chicago IL @ Reggie's
  • 8/15 Madison WI @ Brink Lounge
  • 8/16 St. Paul MN @ Station 4
  • 8/17 Omaha NE @ Shamrock's
  • 8/19 St. Louis MO @ 2720 Cherokee
  • 8/20 Kansas City MO @ The Record Bar
  • 8/21 Tulsa OK @ The Vanguard
  • 8/23 Denton TX @ Dan's Silverleaf
  • 8/24 Houston TX @ Rudyard's Pub
  • 8/25 Austin TX @ Saxon Pub

Culture Clash Track Listing:

01. Dance Of The Aristocrats
02. Culture Clash
03. Louisville Stomp
04. Ohhhh Noooo
05. Gaping Head Wound
06. Desert Tornado
07. Cocktail Umbrellas
08. Living The Dream
09. And Finally

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.