Exclusive: Rich Hinks of Aeon Zen Demonstrates Top Five Riffs on New Album, 'Enigma'

Today, we have an exclusive video from UK progressive-metallers Aeon Zen.

It features band founder and multi-instrumentalist Rich Hinks showing you how to play the top five riffs from the band's new album, Enigma, which will be released next Tuesday, January 22, on Nightmare Records.

Enigma is a concept album with nine continuous tracks showing the strengths of the band, plus two bonus tracks. The album is available for pre-order on Amazon.com (opens in new tab) and the Nightmare Records website.

Enigma was produced by Hinks. The band is Hinks (guitar, bass, vocals), Andi Kravljaca (vocals), Matt Shepherd (Guitar), Shaz (keyboards) and Steve Burton (drums).

For more about the band, check out their official website and Facebook page.

Enigma Tracklisting:

  • 01. Enter the Enigma
  • 02. Artificial Soul
  • 03. Divinity
  • 04. Seven Hills
  • 05. Warning
  • 06. Turned to Ash
  • 07. Still Human
  • 08. Eternal Snow
  • 09. Downfall
  • 10. Survival (Bonus Track)
  • 11. Time Divine 2.0 (Bonus Track)

Enigma features guest vocals by Nate Loosemore (Lost In Thought) Atle Pettersen (Above Symmetry) and Jonny Tatum (Eumeria).

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas (opens in new tab), was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron (opens in new tab), a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (opens in new tab). He now plays in two NYC-area bands.