Andy Summers announces final installment of his album trilogy, Harmonics of the Night

Andy Summers
(Image credit: Jeff Kravitz/FilmMagic via Getty)

Andy Summers has announced his 15th studio solo record and the final installment in his trilogy of albums, Harmonics Of The Night.

Set for an October 15 release via Andy Summers Music/Cargo Records, the upcoming entry into the former Police, Soft Machine and Kevin Ayers electric guitar player’s discography will join up with 2016’s Metal Dog and 2017’s Triboluminescence to cap off the five-year project.

As for the grand finale, Summers revealed it began life as a single improvisational guitar opus, and evolved into a blossoming 12-strong collection.

Speaking to Prog (opens in new tab) about his upcoming album, Summers said, “The music for Harmonics Of The Night came from a real life situation, which was the occasion of a retrospective exhibition  of my photography at the Pavillon Populaire in Montpellier.

Andy Summers Harmonics Of The Night

(Image credit: Cargo Records)

“I was able to visit the museum in advance of the opening and decided this time, instead of the usual unsuitable music being played by the whatever gallery, that I must make a music installation to accompany the photography on the wall, a piece that could be looped and thus provide a continual musical counterpoint to  the  visual.

"I made a 20-minute single guitar improvisation, A Certain Strangeness,” he continued. “This piece put a certain approach in my head and pointed me in the direction of 11 more tracks. It was the guiding spirit. 

“These pieces, which vary from minimalist approaches to African influenced dance pieces, are what I consider the sonic parallels to the photography.”

You can check out the tracklist for Harmonics Of The Night below:

  1. A Certain Strangeness
  2. City Of Crocodiles
  3. Aeromancer
  4. Chronosthesia
  5. Harmonics Of The Night
  6. Mirror In The Dirt
  7. Prairie
  8. Fantoccini
  9. Aphelion
  10. Spell
  11. Inamorata
  12. Strange Return

Keep your eyes peeled for a preorder link over at Cargo Records (opens in new tab), which will crop up prior to the album's release on October 15.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Matt Owen

Matt is a Staff Writer, writing for Guitar World, Guitarist and Total Guitar. He has a Masters in the guitar, a degree in history, and has spent the last 16 years playing everything from blues and jazz to indie and pop. When he’s not combining his passion for writing and music during his day job, Matt records for a number of UK-based bands and songwriters as a session musician.