Dream Theater Announce Album Title, Track Listing

As we reported yesterday, the new Dream Theater album is set for a September release through Roadrunner Records. Now, Dream Theater have officially announced the title of their new album: A Dramatic Turn of Events. It will be released Sept. 13. The band will support the album with a world tour.

Of the new album, vocalist James LaBrie said, "In the grand scheme of Dream Theater's career, the last several months have been such an incredibly positive, fulfilling and rewarding experience. The new songs and sound has never been so spirited or rejuvenating. I cannot wait for every one of our fans to sink their audio senses into this batch of tunes."

This will be Dream Theater's first album without original drummer and founding member, Mike Portnoy, who parted ways with the band last year.

The recent announcement that drummer Mike Mangini would be replacing Portnoy caused such fanfare that Mangini was a trending topic on Twitter, second only to England's royal wedding.

Track Listing for A Dramatic Turn of Events:

  • 1. On the Backs of Angels
  • 2. Build Me Up, Break Me Down
  • 3. Lost Not Forgotten
  • 4. This is the Life
  • 5. The Shaman’s Trance
  • 6. Outcry
  • 7. Far From Heaven
  • 8. Breaking All Illusions
  • 9. Beneath The Surface

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Josh Hart

Josh Hart is a former web producer and staff writer for Guitar World and Guitar Aficionado magazines (2010–2012). He has since pursued writing fiction under various pseudonyms while exploring the technical underpinnings of journalism, now serving as a senior software engineer for The Seattle Times.