Skip to main content

Dream Theater Announces 'Black Coulds & Silver Linings'

Progressive metal veterans Dream Theater have announced Black Clouds & Silver Linings as the title of their tenth studio album. The band commenced work on the album -- their second for Roadrunner Records, following up 2007's Systematic Chaos -- in October of last year. Roadrunner will release the record on June 23. In addition to the standard version CD, the album will also be available on vinyl LP, as well as a three-disc Special Edition CD that will include the full album, a CD of instrumental mixes of the album and a CD of six cover songs, which will be revealed at a later date. Six weeks prior to the June 23 street date, Roadrunner will release one cover song per week through digital retailers. The artwork was once again designed by Hugh Syme (Rush, Iron Maiden).

Drummer Mike Portnoy and guitarist John Petrucci are once again at the helm as producers, while Paul Northfield is mixing the record. The band will embark on a world tour in support of the album beginning in Europe throughout June which will be followed by the second edition of the band’s Progressive Nation tour featuring Zappa Plays Zappa, Pain Of Salvation and Beardfish throughout North America in July/August. A video for "A Rite of Passage" will be shot in late March.

For more information, visit

Black Clouds & Silver Linings Track Listing:

  • 1. A Nightmare to Remember
  • 2. A Rite of Passage
  • 3. Wither
  • 4. The Shattered Fortress
  • 5. The Best of Times
  • 6. The Count of Tuscany