Exclusive Song Premiere: Quincy Mumford & The Reason Why — "A Hard Place"

Today, GuitarWorld.com presents the exclusive premiere of "A Hard Place," a new song by Quincy Mumford & The Reason Why.

The track is from the band's new album, Its Only Change, which will be released July 30.

The album, which was recorded in Nashville with producer Ken Coomer (Wilco, Uncle Tupelo), features performances from Jerry Roe (K.D. Lang), David Labruyere (John Mayer) and Aubrey Freed (Black Crowes, Sheryl Crow).

"Quincy Mumford is a true artist who can bring raw '70s-style rock and funk highlighted with the voice of an old soul," Coomer said. "It’s a perfect blend.”

"This record is like nothing I have ever done before," Mumford adds. "For the first time, I was able to mesh all of my influences into one complete piece of work.”

The band, which includes Mumford (guitar/lead vocals), Brian Gearty (bass/vocals), Karlee Bloomfield (keyboards/vocals), Mike Zdeb (guitar/vocals) and Davide Vossel (drums), is excited to continue their tireless performance schedule, which has found them sharing the stage with Slightly Stoopid, Rusted Root, moe., Donovan Frankenreiter, Tedeschi Trucks Band and more. You can see their current tour dates below the Soundcloud player.

For more about Quincy Mumford & The Reason Why, visit QuincyMumford.com or follow the band on Facebook.

Tour Dates:

  • 7/14 Porta Asbury Park, NJ
  • 7/18 Vibe In The Street Asbury Park, NJ
  • 7/20 Jersey Shore Music Festival Lakewood, NJ
  • 7/20 Blues On The Beach Stratford, CT
  • 7/21 Madhatter Sea Bright, NJ
  • 7/31 The Rock Shop Brooklyn, NY
  • 8/2 Acoustic Café Bridgeport, CT
  • 8/3 Jamian’s Red Bank, NJ
  • 8/7 Sandy Hook Beach Concert Sandy Hook, NJ
  • 8/9 Stone Pony w/Slightly Stoopid Asbury Park, NJ
  • 8/10 Growlers Pub Gaithersburg, MD
  • 8/14 Orton’s Wilmington, NC
  • 8/21 The JAM: Gainesville Gainesville, FL
  • 8/22 The Funky Buddha Boca Raton, FL
  • 8/23 Guanabanas Jupiter, FL
  • 8/24 Debauchery Melbourne, FL
  • 8/27 The Hummingbird Macon, GA
  • 8/29 Southern Rail Carrboro, NC
  • 8/31 Algonquin Theatre w/De Sol Manasquan, NJ

Its Only Change Track Listing:

01. Change
02. For You
03. Under The Covers
04. When You Get Back
05. A Hard Place
06. Time Won’t Wait
07. Eventually
08. Madeline
09. No Love
10. Baby Don’t Go

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.