Skip to main content

Former Faith No More Vocalist Chuck Mosley Returns with First Solo CD

On August 11, Chuck Mosley--Faith No More's original singer--will release his first solo album, Will Rap Over Hard Rock for Food, via Cleveland-based label Reversed Image Unlimited.

Mosley’s return with Will Rap Over Hard Rock for Food showcases the Godfather of rap-metal seamlessly blending rock, hip-hop, metal, punk and funk. Recounting his previous work, Mosley, as he describes it, would “rant to the beat.” On his latest effort, Mosley’s musical stew combines this approach with an exploration of his vocal range. It’s apparent that he chose to let his amalgam of cultural saturations melt into this new album, which he describes as “just very normal for me.”

Will Rap Over Hard Rock for Food was produced by multi-Platinum award-winning producer/engineer Michael Seifert (Bone Thugs-n-Harmony, Fountains of Wayne). Featuring guest appearances from a cast of characters Chuck has affectionately deemed Vanduls Ugenst Allliderasy, John5 (Rob Zombie, Marilyn Manson), Roddy Bottum (Faith No More, Imperial Teen), and Michael Cartellone (Lynyrd Skynyrd) all contribute to the record. Korn frontman Jonathan Davis (courtesy of Warner Bros. Records), who attributes Mosley as a massive influence, also makes an appearance on the lead single “The Enabler.”

In the 70s, Mosley was just a kid growing up in Southern California with no limitations on his tastes in music. A musical sponge, he studied classical piano for 10 years, while soaking up influences from jazz, rock, pop, and early rap. Eventually signing on to front Faith No More, he crafted these influences to pioneer a whole new take on heavy music. Bringing the rhythm and raw emotion of rap vocals to the riff-laden, chaotic-nature of rock, Mosley became an innovator which many musical acts would emulate, including Korn, Linkin Park, Limp Bizkit, and Kid Rock. He would later front legendary hardcore/reggae group the Bad Brains as well.

On July 28th – August 10th, fans will be able to pre-order Chuck Mosley’s Will Rap Over Hard Rock for Food CD online at, and receive a personally autographed CD, plus completed download and a special edition postcard.

Reversed Image Unlimited LLC is a non-traditional, highly innovative record label featuring indie, electronic, rock and pop artists.

Track Listing:

  • 1) Intro
  • 2) The Enabler
  • 3) Tractor
  • 4) Punk Rock Movie
  • 5) Nameless
  • 6) Pile Driver
  • 7) Come Around
  • 8) King Arthur’s Cousin, Ted
  • 9) Sophie
  • 10) WCAL
  • 11) Bob Forest