IDLES announce new album Crawler, take soulful left turn on new single, The Beachland Ballroom

IDLES perform at the Glastonbury Festival at Worthy Farm, Pilton on June 28, 2019 in Glastonbury, England
(Image credit: Jim Dyson/Getty Images)

Last time we heard from Bristol, England alt-rockers IDLES, they were gleefully deconstructing Metallica's The God That Failed, turning it into a chaotic, noisy romp.

Now though, the group is back with the announcement of a new album called Crawler, and the release of its lead single, a stunning piece of tortured neo-soul called The Beachland Ballroom that takes the band in a wholly new direction while losing none of their righteous fire.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Jackson Maxwell

Jackson is an Associate Editor at He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.