Paul Weller to Release New Album, 'Sonik Kicks,' in March; New Song Streaming Now

Thirty-five years after the release of The Jam's punk-rock classic In The City, The Jam's former frontman, Paul Weller, will release a new album, Sonik Kicks, in early 2012.

The album, which will feature guest appearances by Noel Gallagher of Oasis and Graham Coxon of Blur, is scheduled to be released in the US March 27 on Yep Roc Records. It will be his 11th solo album.

The first single, "Around The Lake," can be heard below and will be available on iTunes starting next week.

The complete track listing:

  • Green
  • The Attic
  • Kling I Klang
  • Sleep of the Serene
  • By the Waters
  • That Dangerous Age
  • Study in Blue
  • Dragonfly
  • When Your Garden’s Overgrown
  • Around The Lake
  • Twilight
  • Drifters
  • Paperchase
  • Be Happy Children

Weller will perform Sonik Kicks in its entirety at The Roundhouse in London March 18 and 19. Tickets go on sale today. US shows are in the works and will be announced at a later date.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas (opens in new tab), was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron (opens in new tab), a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (opens in new tab). He now plays in two NYC-area bands.