Twisted Sister's 'Stay Hungry' CD Getting 25th Anniversary Reissue Treatment

After rocking clubs from Los Angeles to New York City for more than a decade, Twisted Sister made its bones in 1984 with the quintet's second Atlantic Records release, Stay Hungry, a Top 20 album that stormed the charts with a string of hit singles and genre-bending videos. Rhino proudly wears a Twisted Sister pin on its uniform, celebrating the album's multi-Platinum success with a 25th Anniversary Edition that includes a bonus disc of unreleased outtakes and early demos from the original sessions, as well as a new track recorded especially for this collection by
the 1984 lineup: Dee Snider, Jay Jay French, Eddie Ojeda, Mark Mendoza, and
A.J. Pero. Stay Hungry 25th Anniversary Edition will be available June 30
from Rhino Records at all retail outlets, including, for a suggested list price of $19.98 (CD), $12.99 (digital).

A limited edition pink vinyl package with the original Stay Hungry album
art and bonus poster will also be released this summer at the suggested retail price of $24.98.

The first disc contains remastered versions of the nine tracks from the May
1984 original. The album was a smash thanks to a pair of fist-pumping
anthems of youthful rebellion -- "I Wanna Rock" and "We're Not Gonna Take
It" -- that went Top 40. The band balanced those catchy songs with the harder
edge of metal classics like "Burn in Hell" and "Horror-Teria," a macabre
song that would later serve as the inspiration for Strangeland, a 1998
horror film written by Snider, who also starred as the sadistic Captain

The bonus disc uncovers 15 unreleased recordings that range from alternate
versions of album tracks -- including "We're Not Gonna Take It" -- to several
non-album tracks such as "Death from Above," "Prime Motivator" and "Pay
the Price," a song from the band's earlier club days. Along with the
vintage tracks, the collection includes "30," Twisted's first new song in
11 years recorded by the band for the 25th Anniversary Edition.

"30" was originally written by Dee Snider with Marc Beeman and Sharon
Lawson for the reality series Gone Country. Dee says, "While '30' was my
attempt at a country song for the show, the realization was that rock 'n'
roll is a direct outgrowth of country music. Since '30' was written about
my Twisted Sister experience, it seemed only natural for us to record it
and rock it out."

More than a decade after Twisted Sister's last show, the band reformed in
2001 for a benefit and continued playing together, including an astonishing
run of over 50 headline festival dates performing in front of two million
people in over 23 countries. In 2006, the band returned to the charts with
Twisted Christmas, a holiday album that buzzsaws through yuletide classics
such as "Oh Come All Ye Faithful" and "Silver Bells." That same year, the
Long Island Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inducted Twisted Sister. The band is
currently at work on a new album and a Broadway musical based on Twisted
. Twisted Sister will headline the annual Rocklahoma music
festival July 9-12 in Pryor, Oklahoma. Rock of Ages, Broadway's latest
musical hit with five Tony nominations, features Twisted Sister
prominently in its story line and with the band's aforementioned iconic
anthems, "I Wanna Rock" and "We're Not Gonna Take It."

Were you there? Be sure to check out Twisted Sister's 1978 debut tour and
more at and

Stay Hungry 25th Anniversary Edition Track Listing:

  • Disc 1
  • 1. "Stay Hungry"
  • 2. "We're Not Gonna Take It"
  • 3. "Burn in Hell"
  • 4. "Horror-Teria (The Beginning)"
  • a. "Captain Howdy"
  • b. "Street Justice"
  • 5. "I Wanna Rock"
  • 6. "The Price"
  • 7. "Don't Let Me Down"
  • 8. "The Beast"
  • 9. "S.M.F."

Disc 2
1. "Death from Above"
2. "Prime Motivator"
3. "We're Not Gonna Take It" – Early Demo
4. "Death Run"
5. "This One's for You"
6. "S.M.F." – Early Demo
7. "We're Coming On"
8. "Call My Name"
9. "Burn in Hell" – Early Demo
10. "Pay the Price"
11. "What's Love Without You"
12. "Our Voice Will Be Heard"
13. "You Got to Fight"
14. "The Price" – Early Demo
15. "Stay Hungry" – Early Demo
16. Radio Spot
17. "30" – New Track

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.