Skip to main content

Uli Jon Roth Premieres New Song, "Virgin Killer," from 'Scorpions Revisited' — Exclusive

Guitar legend Uli Jon Roth and Guitar World have teamed up to premiere "Virgin Killer," a track from Roth's new studio album, Scorpions Revisited.

The album, which features 19 "re-invented" Scorpions tracks, will be released March 10 via UDR.

In 2013, Roth found himself unusually intrigued by his early days with the Scorpions, including his work on Fly to the Rainbow, In Trance, Virgin Killer and Taken By Force. As a result, the guitarist spent a year re-visiting, exploring, performing and re-recording his favorite Scorpions songs.

The first results can be found on Scorpions Revisited, which was recorded in Hanover, Germany. You can check out the complete track list below.

Today's song, "Virgin Killer," is the title track from the Scorpions' fourth studio album, which was released in late 1976. It was written by Roth—and, of course, Roth played guitar on the original recording.

“The material for this CD was recorded last year in the same hall in Hanover that we used for the Scorpions rehearsals 1973 to 1978,” Roth says. “Together with an amazing bunch of talented young musicians, I revisited my favorites from the early Scorpions period, some of which were written in that same hall.

"It was an emotional few days, and I'm very pleased with the results. The idea was to stay truthful to the original spirit of the music, while also putting a new slant on it whenever it felt like the right thing to do. I feel we succeeded in this, and I’m excited about this project. It was a intense journey into the past.”

Roth's band on the album includes Nathan James (vocals), Jamie Little (drums), Ule W. Ritgen (bass), Niklas Turmann (guitar, vocals), Corvin Bahn (keyboards, vocals) and David Klosinski (guitar).

For more information, visit Be sure to tell us what you think of "In Trance" in the comments below or on Facebook!

Track listing - CD1:
01. The Sails Of Charon
02. Longing For Fire
03. Crying Days
04. Virgin Killer
05. In Trance
06. Sun In My Hand
07. Yellow Raven
08. Polar Nights
09. Dark Lady

Track listing - CD2:
01. Catch Your Train
02. Evening Wind
03. All Night Long
04. We’ll Burn In The Sky
05. Pictured Life
06. Hell Cat
07. Life’s Like A River
08. Drifting Sun
09. Rainbow Dream Prelude
10. Fly To The Rainbow

2015 ULI JON ROTH Tour Dates:

  • 19.02.2015 – Japan – Nagoya – Bottom Line
  • 20.02.2015 – Japan – Tokyo – Nakano Sun Plaza Hall
  • 22.02.2015 – Japan Osaka - Quattro
  • 11.04.2015 – Full Metal Cruise II – to Mediterranian Sea
  • 16.04.2015 Plama de Mallorca/Barcelona/Ibiza
  • 24.04.2015 – Germany – Lauda-Königshofen – Keep it True Festival
  • 22.05.2015 – Germany – Bocholt – Alte Molkerei
  • 23.05.2015 – Germany – Bocholt – Alte Molkerei
  • 22.08.2015 – Germany – Balve - Balver Höhle
  • 27.08.2015 - Full Metal Cruise III – to North Sea
  • 31.08.2015 Kiel/Copenhaven/Gothenburg/Hamburg
Damian Fanelli

Damian is editor-in-chief of Guitar World magazine. From 1998 to 2014, he was one third of Mister Neutron, an instrumental rock act that toured the universe and elsewhere and released three albums via Austin-based Deep Eddy Records. These days he performs with several New York City-area bands and can often be spotted with one of his many, many, many B-bender-equipped guitars. In past lives he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor – and he still can’t believe he got to write the liner notes for the latest SRV box set.