Exclusive Video: The Life And Times — "Day Two"

Here's the exclusive premiere of the live, in-studio performance video for "Day Two" by experimental space rock trio The Life And Times.

"Day Two" is from the band's forthcoming album, No One Loves You Like I Do, which will be released January 17 via Slimstyle Records (Movits). The album was mastered and partly mixed by Jason Livermore (Rise Against, Gaslight Anthem) at Blasting Room Studios and is the follow-up to 2009’s Tragic Boogie.

The album's title comes from one of its most stark pieces, "Day Five" (Every song on the album is titled "Day" with a number after it). The title reveals its layers of meaning as the album proceeds. You realize there’s something “kinda dark and wrong going on here” says singer/guitarist/keyboardist Allen Epley, “though it began ostensibly as a profession of one persons love for another. This person is likely off the deep end, but aren’t we all?”

The Life And Times initially formed in Kansas City, Missouri, in 2003 by Epley, Eric Abert and Chris Metcalf. Their debut full-length, 2005’s Suburban Hymns, earned praise from Pitchfork, who proclaimed that the band’s “shoegaze-inspired guitars are neatly folded between heavy modern rock drumming, rhythms are toyed with, stretched and collapsed."

The Life And Times on tour in 2012:

  • JAN
  • 18 Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room
  • 19 Denton, TX @ Dan’s Silver Leaf
  • 21 Tuscon, AZ @ Plush
  • 22 Los Angeles, CA @ The Satellite
  • 23 San Francisco, CA @ Cafe Du Norde
  • 25 Phoenix, AZ @ Rhythm Room
  • 27 Norman, OK @ The Opolis
  • 28 St Louis, MO @ The Firebird

24 Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
25 Grand Rapids, MI @ Pyramid Scheme
27 New York, NY @ Knitting Factory
28 Boston, MA @ O’Briens
29 Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie

1 Washington, DC @ Black Cat Backstage
2 Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.