Hear Motörhead Cover David Bowie's "Heroes"

Motörhead has released a cover of David Bowie's "Heroes."

Recorded during the sessions for 2015's Bad Magic, the previously unreleased track is taken from the band's upcoming covers compilation, Under Cöver. It's one of the final tracks the trio ever recorded together.

"Lemmy was very, very proud of it," says drummer Mickey Dee of the recording. "Not only because it turned out so well, but because it was fun—which is what projects like this should be: Fun!"

You can watch the moving, triumphant cover below.

You can preorder Under Cöver, which will be released September 1 via Motörhead Music,here.

Under Cöver Tracklisting:

  • 1. Breaking the Law
  • 2. God Save the Queen
  • 3. Heroes
  • 4. Starstruck
  • 5. Cat Scratch Fever
  • 6. Jumpin' Jack Flash
  • 7. Sympathy for the Devil
  • 8. Hellraiser
  • 9. Rockaway Beach
  • 10.Shoot 'Em Down
  • 11. Whiplash

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Jackson Maxwell

Jackson is an Associate Editor at GuitarWorld.com. He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.