Exclusive Premiere: Versus The World — "Mason Grace"

Here's the exclusive premiere of "Mason Grace," a new song by Santa Barbara-based rockers Versus The World.

The track is off their upcoming album, Drink. Sing. Live. Love., which will be released July 31. The album is available now for pre-order at Interpunk.com.

Versus The World have also announced several new tour dates, which you can check out below the SoundCloud player near the bottom of this story.

The band -- Mike Davenport (The Ataris), Chris Flippin (Lagwagon), Donald Spence and Bryan Charleson (Crooks and Liars) -- have more than a decade of experience in some of punk rock's most revered bands.

They released their self-titled album in 2005 on Kung Fu Records and spent the next several years touring in support with bands like Suicide Machines, Bouncing Souls, The Lawrence Arms, Social Distortion, No Use For A Name, The Vandals, I Am The Avalanche and the Vans Warped Tour.

Versus The World's sophomore album, Drink. Sing. Live. Love., was produced by Thom Flowers (The Ataris) and recorded at Playback Recording and Orange Whip studios in Santa Barbara. It was mixed by Ian MacGregor (All American Rejects, Katy Perry) and mastered by Jason Livermore at The Blasting Room in Fort Collins.

Follow Versus The World at their official website and Facebook page.

Versus The World Tour Dates:

  • June 22 - Redondo Beach, CA - Brixton (w/Unwritten Law)
  • June 23 - Temecula, CA - The Vault (w/Unwritten Law)
  • July 17 - Colorado Springs, CO - Black Sheep (w/Authority Zero)
  • July 18 - Denver, CO - Marquis Theatre (w/Authority Zero)
  • July 19 - Salt Lake City, UT - Bar Deluxe (w/Authority Zero)
  • July 20 - Boise, ID - The Reef (w/Authority Zero)
  • July 21 - Reno, NV - Cargo (w/Authority Zero)
  • July 22 - Oakland, CA - The New Parish (w/Authority Zero)
  • July 24 - Santa Barbara, CA - Velvet Jones (w/Authority Zero)
  • July 25 - Fullerton, CA - Slidebar (w/Authority Zero)
  • July 26 - San Diego, CA - Soma (w/Authority Zero)
  • July 27 - Tempe, AZ - Club Red (w/Authority Zero)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.