Skip to main content

Assembly of Dust Announce New Album Details

Out July 21 on Missing Piece/Rock Ridge Music, Assembly of Dust’s Some Assembly Required contains the strongest collection of songs the group has created to date, each expertly crafted tune illuminated by a stellar lineup of guests. Every musician recruited lends their considerable talents in service of band leader Reid Genauer’s skillful compositions, an inspired, inventive and spirited version of American rock and roots music.

Critical kudos have been bestowed upon Genauer and the band, ranging from the New York Times to the Village Voice, who hailed him as "an articulate songwriter with a sturdy, well-crafted song cycle of an album as proof," and a delivery that "fleshes out the tunes like a good movie can elucidate a short story." Assembly of Dust also has a large and rabid following, regularly selling out NYC’s Bowery Ballroom, Boston’s Paradise and San Francisco’s Independent, as well as performing at major festivals like Bonnaroo.

Each of Assembly of Dust’s songs are realized with an ace band -- Genauer on vocals and rhythm guitar, lead guitarist Adam Terrell, bassist John Leccese and drummer Andy Herrick -- and a diverse collection of collaborators (including Bela Fleck, David Grisman, John Scofield, Mike Gordon, Richie Havens, and Martin Sexton). Highlights include; opener “All That I Am Now,” with Genauer trading verses with Havens over a galloping, insistent beat and swirls of psychedelic guitar, the “Strawberry Fields”-esque “Arc of the Sun,” the aching beauty of “Light Blue Lover” with Genauer backed by the supple harmonies of Grace Potter and the guitar work of Tony Rice, and the country shuffle of “Leadbelly,” enhanced by the masterful pedal steel of Jerry Douglas.

Some Assembly Required Tracklist:

  • 1. All That I Am Now - featuring Richie Havens
  • 2. The Second Song - featuring Keller Williams
  • 3. Pedal Down - featuring Zach and Andrew Gabbard (Buffalo Killers)
  • 4. Cold Coffee - featuring David Grisman
  • 5. Arc of the Sun - featuring Mike Gordon
  • 6. Light Blue Lover - featuring Grace Potter and Tony Rice
  • 7. Edges - featuring Bela Fleck
  • 8. Leadbelly - featuring Jerry Douglas
  • 9. Borrowed Feet - featuring John Scofield
  • 10. Revelry - featuring Martin Sexton and Tony Rice
  • 11. Straight
  • 12. High Brow - featuring Al Schnier
  • 13. You Lay The Dust - featuring Jeff Pevar

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.