Skip to main content

Buckethead and Bootsy Collins Team Up for New CD

Calling themselves Science Faxtion, super shredder Buckethead and Parliament-Funkadelic bassist Bootsy Collins have collaborated on a new CD, Living on Another Frequency, due out November 11 via Mascot Records.

The group also consists of drummer Brain (Primus, Tom Waits, Godflesh), and producer/singer/songwriter/guitarist Greg Hampton (Alice Cooper/Ron Wood, Rick Derringer, The Tubes, Jack Casady featuring Ivan Neville & Gov’t Mule, Jorma Kaukenon, Little Feat).

The CD features an allstar cast, including contributions from rapper Chuck D of Public Enemy, Bernie Worrell and others. Although Hampton produced, sang lead, composed and played guitar on Living on Another Frequency, he also plays bass, drums, keyboards and percussion, and has performed every genre of music in his wide-ranging career from funk, hard rock, metal and pop to country.

“Originally, it was Bootsy,” explains Hampton. “We were going to be referencing more of his oldschool and historical funk elements that we all grew up with. Then he had the epiphany of us doing a group project, having me sing and play guitar, and bringing in Buckethead and Brain. And DJ Botieus does a lot of programming. He’s definitely a secret weapon.”

Track Listing:

  • 1) Sci-Fax Theme
  • 2) Lookin’ For Eden
  • 3) At Any Cost
  • 4) Chaos In Motion
  • 5) Famous
  • 6) L.O.A.F.
  • 7) Gone Tomorrow
  • 8) Life-IS IN-Deliver
  • 9) Take You Down
  • 10) What It Is
  • 11) Fatally Flawed Flesh
  • 12) I See Rockets
  • 13) ZIONPLANET10