Burzum Anthology Disc Announced

Candlelight Records has announced the May 13 release of Anthology, a retrospective disc featuring tracks from Burzum’s entire 10-year recording history.

Burzum, the one-man band project of Varg Vikernes, retains a vital roll in the early development of Norway’s famed black metal scene. His contributions to what was once merely a small circle of friends grew to immense popularity, the genre now having sold hundreds of thousands of records around the globe. Compared to his peers—Mayhem, Darkthrone, Gorgoroth, Immortal—Burzum possessed a very distinct sound. Using ancient mythology as his lyrical muse (the very name Burzum coming from J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings), he became known for fearless experimentation; each record expanding on previous efforts. Anthology is a special first-time collection of material that spans the musician’s ten-plus year recording legacy; most unfortunately still unavailable for US fans (other than pricey imports). Featuring selections from each of his six albums (and including one from his popular EP, Aske), Anthology is anticipated to be a highly sought-after recording for longtime fans and those curious newcomers who up-til-now only knew of the name and not had opportunity to bear witness to the musician’s blackened fruit.

  • Track Listing
  • 1. Feeble Screams from Forests Unknown
  • 2. Stemmen fra Taarmet
  • 3. Lost Wisdom
  • 4. Svart Troner
  • 5. Det Som en Gang Var
  • 6. Jesus Tod
  • 7. Gebrechichkeit
  • 8. Balferd Baldrs
  • (bonus video) Dunkelheit

Originally a member of the band Old Funeral, Varg Vikernes, a.k.a. Count Grishnackh, formed Burzum in 1991. The self-titled 1992 debut featured raw, primitive black metal; sounds that Vikernes would expand upon with each subsequent recording. For his later recordings, 1997’s Daudi Baldrs and 1999’s Hildskjalf, the music turned to a dark, ambient styling. Throughout the discography Burzum maintained a minimalist or low-fi sound and yet it still included intrique layers of instrumentation and vocal performance. Burzum has been featured on various compilations and collections, notably the soundtrack for the cult independent film Gummo (1998, Domino Records), and the popular Fenriz Presents—The Best of Old School Black Metal (2004, Peaceville Records).

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.