Deep Purple DVD Retrospective Due June 2

On June 2, Deep Purple fans will have the opportunity to experience highlights from the early days of the legendary band, when Eagle Rock Entertainment releases History, Hits, & Highlights, a special 2-DVD set ($24.98).

A vivid compilation of rare and unreleased material, live performances, archival interviews and studio/television footage, History, Hits, & Highlights chronicles the years 1968-1976 when the band survived four line-up changes and produced such classic albums as In Rock, Fireball, Burn, and Machine Head. It was at this time that essential tracks like “Hush,” “Speed King,” “Black Night,” and, of course, “Smoke on the Water,” were produced. These solid rock staples, plus many more, are prominently displayed on this set. As a bonus, a photo gallery is included on the second disc.

Track Listing:

  • Disc #1:
  • History – 20 minute history of Deep Purple from 1968 to 1976

Hits – full performances:

Mark One Line-Up (March 1968 – July 1969) – Ritchie Blackmore (guitar), Rod Evans (vocals), Jon Lord (keyboard), Ian Paice (drums), Nick Simper (bass)
1.) Help
2.) Hush
3.) Wring That Neck

Mark Two Line-Up (July 1969-June 1973) – Ritchie Blackmore (guitar), Ian Gillan (vocals), Roger Glover (bass), Jon Lord (keyboard), Ian Paice (drums)
4.) Hallelujah
5.) Mandrake Root
6.) Speed King
7.) Black Night
8.) Child In Time
9.) Lazy
10.) Strange Kind Of Woman
11.) Fireball Writing Session
12.) Fireball
13.) Demon’s Eyes
14.) No No No
15.) Into The Fire
16.) Never Before
17.) Highway Star
18.) Smoke On The Water

Mark Three Line-Up (July 1973-1975) – Ritchie Blackmore (guitar), David Coverdale (vocals), Glenn Hughes (bass/vocals), Jon Lord (keyboards), Ian Paice (drums)
19.) Burn
20.) Mistreated

Mark Four Line-Up (June 1975-March 1976) – Tommy Bolin (guitar), David Coverdale (vocals), Glenn Hughes (bass/vocals), Jon Lord (keyboards), Ian Paice (drums)
21.) Love Child
22.) You Keep On Moving

Disc #2:
Highlights – bonus performances and interviews

Mark One Line-Up
1.) And The Address (Playboy TV)

Mark Two Line-Up
2.) Wring That Neck (Bilzen Jazz Festival 1969)
4.) Wring That Neck (“Pop Deux” Paris Concert 1970)
3.) Mandrake Root (“Pop Deux” Paris Concert 1970)
5.) Black Night (Promo Clip)
6.) No No No (Take 1 – Rockpalast Rehearsal Session)
7.) No No No (Take 2 – Rockpalast Rehearsal Session)

Mark Three Line-Up
8.) Jt. Nuit (French TV 1974)
9.) Leeds Polytechnic Student Project 1974 – featuring Burn/Space Truckin’

Mark Four Line-Up
10.) New Zealand TV Documentary (November 1975)
11.) Smoke On The Water (New Zealand TV)
12.) Tony Edwards (Deep Purple’s manager) – French TV Interview 1976

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.