Dinosaur Jr. 'Bug' Cassette Reissue Due June 21

Indie godfathers Dinosaur Jr. have announced the reissue of their classic 1988 album, Bug, on cassette via Joyful Noise Recordings. Slated for release on June 21, the cassette reissue coincides with the band's 15-date US/European tour, during which Bug will be performed live in its entirety.

Originally released on cassette in 1988 via the legendary SST label, this is the first ever reissue of a Dinosaur Jr. album on its original cassette format. Hell - as far as we can tell, this is the first ever cassette reissue of any album originally released on the format.

Available in extremely limited quantities, the Bug cassette is limited only 250 hand-numbered copies, on high-quality purple tapes, with eight-panel original artwork.

Bug cassettes can be ordered for $12 here. Only 125 copies of Bug are available for purchase online. The remaining 125 copies will be sold on the Bug tour.


  • (Dinosaur Jr. performing Bug in its entirety at each show)
  • June 21 - Northampton, MA @ Calvin Theatre
  • June 22 - Boston, MA @ The Paradise
  • June 23 - New York, NY @ Terminal 5
  • June 24 - Philadelphia, PA @ Electric Factory
  • June 25 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
  • June 26 - Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
  • June 27 - Carrboro, NC @ Cat's Cradle
  • July 1 - London, UK @ Alexandra Palace
  • July 2 - Paris, France @ Gaite Lyrique
  • July 3 - Ferrara, Italy @ Ferrara Sotto Le Stelle
  • July 4 - Milan, Italy @ Magnolia
  • July 5 - Antwerp, Belgium @ Rivierenhof
  • July 7 - Helsinki, Finland @ Tavastia Club
  • July 8 - Stockholm, Sweden @ Gota Kallare
  • July 9 - Oslo, Norway @ Rockefeller Music Hall

Here's the video for a Bug tune, "Freak Scene":

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.