Skip to main content

European Release of Slash's Solo Album to Feature Fergie, Ozzy, Chris Cornell and more

Roadrunner records has just announced the signing of Velvet Revolver/ex-Guns N' Roses guitarist Slash for the forthcoming European release of his debut solo album, Slash.

Slash will be released in spring of 2010 as a deluxe "fan pack," in which the album will be bundled together with a highly collectible special issue of Future Publishing's Classic Rock magazine dedicated to Slash's career.

Slash will release a two-track CD single in Japan on November 11 containing the song "Sahara" (featuring singer Koshi Inaba of the Japanese hard rock duo B'Z) and a version of the GN'R classic "Paradise City" (featuring Cypress Hill and Fergie of the Black Eyed Peas).

"Sahara" is expected to appear on Slash's forthcoming solo album. According to the guitarist, "the [record] is in its mixing stage and the mixes to this point sound great. We have recorded 18 songs, with one more I want to track." He added, "the record is still slated for a February/March release."

Slash tracked most of the CD with former Nine Inch Nails drummer Josh Freese and ex-Jane's Addiction bassist Chris Chaney. Other confirmed guest singers so far include Ozzy Osbourne, Avenged Sevenfold's M. Shadows and Chris Cornell (Soundgarden, Audioslave). The CD was produced by Eric Valentine (Good Charlotte, Queens of the Stone Age) and features additional appearances by ex-Guns N' Roses drummer Steven Adler, Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea and former Nirvana drummer and current Foo Fighters frontman Dave Grohl.

We have yet to receive details regarding the U.S. release of Slash.