Skip to main content

Exclusive Song Premiere: Corey Taylor Covers Dio's "Rainbow in the Dark," Featuring Steel Panther's Satchel

Today, and share the exclusive U.S. premiere of Corey Taylor's new version of Dio's "Rainbow in the Dark."

The track, which you can dig into below, is from a new Dio tribute album, Ronnie James Dio: This Is Your Life, which will be released April 1. You can check out the complete track and artist listing below.

On the track — which originally appeared on Dio's classic 1983 album, Holy Diver — the Slipknot and Stone Sour frontman is joined by Steel Panther guitarist (and former Guitar World columnist) Satchel, Stone Sour drummer Roy Mayorga and touring friends Jason Christopher and Christian Martucci.

"Ronnie was the most natural singer I have ever witnessed," Taylor says. "He could do anything, hit any note, make any audience lose their minds. He was one of the greatest and I'm so happy I got to see him live. 'Rainbow in the Dark' was the first Dio song I really loved to death--just a powerful, high-energy hard rock song that was so good I wished I'd written it.

"When I was asked to be a part of this album, I knew there was only one track I wanted to record and luckily I got it. I only hope I did it justice. Having had the privilege of meeting Ronnie before he passed, I hope he knows how much I loved him for who and what he was: One of the greatest."

Take a listen and let us know what you think in the comments or on Facebook!

The album will raise funds for the Ronnie James Dio Stand Up and Shout Cancer Fund.

Ronnie James Dio: This Is Your Life Tracklist:

  • 01. “Neon Knights” – Anthrax*
  • 02. “The Last In Line” – Tenacious D*
  • 03. “The Mob Rules” – Adrenaline Mob
  • 04. “Rainbow In The Dark” – Corey Taylor, Roy Mayorga, Satchel, Christian Martucci, Jason Christopher*
  • 05. “Straight Through The Heart” – Halestorm*
  • 06. “Starstruck” – Motörhead with Biff of Saxon*
  • 07. “Temple Of The King” – Scorpions*
  • 08. “Egypt (The Chains Are On)” – Doro
  • 09. “Holy Diver” – Killswitch Engage
  • 10. “Catch the Rainbow” – Glenn Hughes, Simon Wright, Craig Goldy, Rudy Sarzo, Scott Warren*
  • 11. “I” – Jimmy Bain, Oni Logan, Rowan Robertson, Brian Tichy*
  • 12. “Man On The Silver Mountain” – Rob Halford, Vinny Appice, Doug Aldrich, Jeff Pilson, Scott Warren*
  • 13. “Ronnie Rising Medley (featuring “A Light in the Black”, “Tarot Woman”, “Stargazer”, “Kill the King”)”– Metallica*
  • 14. “This Is Your Life” – Dio

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian is editor-in-chief of Guitar World magazine. From 1998 to 2014, he was one third of Mister Neutron, an instrumental rock act that toured the universe and elsewhere and released three albums via Austin-based Deep Eddy Records. These days he performs with several New York City-area bands and can often be spotted with one of his many, many, many B-bender-equipped guitars. In past lives he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor – and he still can’t believe he got to write the liner notes for the latest SRV box set.