Foo Fighters Greatest Hits CD Due Nov. 3

The track listing and contents of Foo Fighters' Greatest Hits have been confirmed, for both a 16-track standard edition as well as a deluxe version featuring a DVD encompassing a select videography of the band's classic clips as well as live performances captured at Wembley Stadium, Hyde Park, the intimate Skin + Bones theater tour and more -- not to mention a few possible treats for Easter egg hunters. The deluxe edition will also include a 28-page bound book featuring numerous never before seen photos chronicling the band's 15-year history. Both the standard and deluxe configurations, as well as a collectors 180
gram vinyl edition, will be released November 3 on Roswell/RCA.

In addition to the dozen-plus anthems that have charted the band's rise to Grammy winning, multi-platinum, arena and stadium headlining status the world over, Foo Fighters' Greatest Hits features two newly recorded songs available only on this compilation: The new single "Wheels" and "Word Forward" -- both recorded especially for this collection at the band's own fabled 606 studio complex with producer Butch Vig. "Wheels" is also the subject of the latest soon to be classic Foo Fighters video, appropriately included on the deluxe DVD and reuniting the band with director Sam Brown who lensed the unforgettable clip for "The Pretender."

Greatest Hits covers every phase of the 15-year-and-counting run that
began with 1995's Foo Fighters, with its classic singles "This Is A Call" and "Big Me," and has since yielded six platinum-plus records and as many Grammys. The double-platinum The Colour & The Shape, originally issued in 1997 and since reissued in a deluxe 10th anniversary edition, is recalled here not only by "Monkeywrench," "Everlong" and "My Hero," but by the first ever studio recording of "Everlong (acoustic)." Consecutive Best Rock Album Grammy winners There Is Nothing Left To Lose (1999) and One By One (2002) are represented by two pairs of classics respectively: ""Learn To Fly" and
"Breakout," and "All My Life" and "Times Like These," while 2005's two-disc electric/acoustic 10th anniversary opus In Your Honor yields the
perennial FF final encore "Best of You." The intimate 2006 acoustically augmented theater tour documented on the Skin + Bones album and DVD
is commemorated here by that collection's title track.

Greatest Hits is completed by "The Pretender" and "Long Road To Ruin," a double shot from 2007's Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, which earned the Foos their third Best Rock Album Grammy and set off the band's biggest ever headlining tour, which peaked with a two-night stand at London's Wembley Stadium attended by 165,000 fans-setting the venue's two-night attendance record-and immortalized on the 18-song Foo Fighters: Live At Wembley Stadium DVD.


  • All My Life
  • Best Of You
  • Everlong
  • The Pretender
  • My Hero
  • Learn To Fly
  • Times Like These
  • Monkeywrench
  • Big Me
  • Breakout
  • Long Road To Ruin
  • This is a Call
  • Skin and Bones
  • Wheels
  • Word Forward
  • Everlong (acoustic)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.