Skip to main content

Inside Dave Mustaine’s Warchest

Megadeth’s Dave Mustaine and Capitol/EMI have collaborated to create and deploy the ultimate Megadeth boxed set: Warchest. The 4-CD+DVD collection features more than six hours of digitally remastered content, hand-selected by Mustaine, including 30 audio and video tracks making their global release debuts, and an additional three tracks that have never before been released in the U.S. Warchest’s October 2 release caps Mustaine and Capitol/EMI’s in-depth Megadeth catalog remastering and restoration campaign, which has encompassed the band’s Capitol studio albums, while also adding new audio and video collections to the band’s arsenal.

Armed with digitally remastered career-defining album cuts, soundtrack and compilation sides, unreleased live and studio performances and interview clips spanning more than 20 years, Warchest is the ultimate Megadeth compendium. Included in the trove are a full 75-minute live set from a night on the 1990 Clash of the Titans tour and a DVD of highlights from a 1992 stop supporting Countdown—two historical shows, both making their release debuts on Warchest. The set’s custom “vac-u-form” packaging showcases a 3-D ammo belt on its front and a 36-page booklet with an essay by Ian Christe and a comprehensive discography, complemented by an array of photos and images.

  • Dave Mustaine says, “This is, by far, the best and most comprehensive look at all-things-Mega if you had to get a crash-course in metal! With some of the most famous, and infamous, shows and any of the fluid, or flammable, lineups, listening to this box set when it was all done was an adrenaline surge. I have got to hand it to my past band mates, they played great for how turbulent times
  • (continued)

could get in the blink of an eye, and I absolutely love every moment of this collection.”

Warchest Track Listing:
Disc One
1. Killing Is My Business…And Business Is Good!
2. The Skull Beneath The Skin
3. Peace Sells
4. Wake Up Dead
5. Devils Island
6. Set The World Afire
7. Into The Lungs Of Hell
8. Anarchy/Problems [session take] *
9. Hook In Mouth
10. Liar
11. In My Darkest Hour
12. No More Mr. Nice Guy
13. “dark themes…” *
14. Holy Wars…The Punishment Due [Casey McMackin demo] *
15. Tornado Of Souls [demo] *
16. Five Magics [demo] *
17. Hangar 18

Disc Two
1. “keeping score…” *
2. Symphony Of Destruction
3. Go To Hell
4. Foreclosure Of A Dream
5. Architecture Of Aggression [demo] ^
6. Skin O’ My Teeth [live at Alpine Valley, East Troy, WI 5/23/92]
7. High Speed Dirt [live at Alpine Valley, East Troy, WI 5/23/92]
8. Ashes In Your Mouth [live at the Cow Palace, S.F., CA 12/4/92]
9. Sweating Bullets [live at the Cow Palace, S.F., CA 12/4/92]
10. Breakpoint [session take] *
11. Angry Again
12. Train Of Consequences
13. Reckoning Day
14. New World Order
15. The Killing Road
16. Strange Ways
17. Paranoid
18. Diadems
19. A Tout Le Monde

Disc Three
1. Trust
2. Almost Honest
3. Use The Man
4. She-Wolf
5. A Secret Place [live at Woodstock, NY 7/25/99]
6. One Thing ^
7. Duke Nukem
8. Insomnia
9. Crush ‘Em
10. Kill The King
11. Dread And The Fugitive Mind
12. Never Say Die
13. Moto Psycho
14. 1000 Times Goodbye
15. Coming Home ^
16. Kick The Chair
17. Of Mice And Men

Disc Four
all tracks recorded live at Wembley Stadium, London, England 10/16/90
1. intro/Rattlehead
2. Wake Up Dead *
3. Hangar 18 *
4. Hook In Mouth *
5. The Skull Beneath The Skin *
6. The Conjuring *
7. In My Darkest Hour *
8. Lucretia *
9. Devils Island *
10. Take No Prisoners *
11. Peace Sells *
12. Black Friday *
13. Holy Wars…The Punishment Due *
14. It’s Electric *
15. Anarchy In The U.K. *

Disc Five [DVD]
all tracks recorded live at Hammersmith Odeon, London, England 9/30/92
1. intro/Holy Wars…The Punishment Due *
2. Wake Up Dead *
3. Hangar 18 *
4. Lucretia *
5. Sweating Bullets *
6. In My Darkest Hour *
7. Tornado Of Souls *
8. Ashes In Your Mouth *
9. Peace Sells *
10. Anarchy In The U.K. *

* previously unreleased
^ previously unreleased in the U.S.


Recording Personnel

Dave Mustaine – vocals, lead & rhythm guitars (1983-present)

Glen Drover – guitars & bkg vocals (2005-present)

Al Pitrelli – lead & rhythm guitars (2000-2002)

Marty Friedman – lead & rhythm guitars (1990-1999)

Jeff Young – lead & rhythm guitars (1988)

Chris Poland – lead & rhythm guitars (1984-1987, 2004)

James Lorenzo – bass guitar & bkg vocals (2006-present)

James MacDonough – bass guitar (2004-2006)

Jimmie Lee Sloas – bass guitar (2004)

David Ellefson – bass guitar & bkg vocals (1983-2002)

Shawn Drover – drums & bkg vocals (2005-present)

Vinnie Colaiuta – drums (2004)

Jimmy DeGrasso – drums (1998-2002)

Nick Menza – drums & bkg vocals (1989-1998)

Chuck Behler – drums (1988)

Gar Samuelson – drums (1984-1987)

4 Anchorage, AK The Egan Conv Center
5 Fairbanks, AK The Carlson Center
7 Seattle, WA Moore Theatre
8 Spokane, WA Big Easy
9 Portland, OR Roseland
11 San Francisco, CA Warfield
12 Anaheim, CA Grove
14 Las Vegas, NV House Of Blues
16 Denver, CO Ogden
18 Sauget, IL Pops
19 Milwaukee, WI Eagles Club
21 Indianapolis, IN Egyptian Room
22 Columbus, OH Newport Music Hall
23 Grand Rapids, MI Orbit Room
25 Buffalo, NY Town Ballroom
26 New York, NY Irving Plaza
28 Providence, RI Lupo's
29 Hampton Beach, NH Hampton Beach Casino
30 Washington, DC 9:30 Club

1 Richmond, VA Toad's Place
3 Ft. Lauderdale Revolution
4 Orlando, FL House Of Blues
5 Myrtle Beach, SC House Of Blues
6 Norfolk, VA Norva

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.