Skip to main content

Lizzy Borden Guitarist Dario Lorina Joins Black Label Society

As we reported exactly a month ago, Black Label Society recently parted ways with longtime guitarist Nick Catanese, aka "the Evil Twin."

It turns out the band has replaced Catanese with Lizzy Borden guitarist Dario Lorina.

Yesterday, Lizzy Borden frontman and namesake Lizzy Borden posted the following note on the band's Facebook page:

"We are extremely proud and happy for Dario Lorina on being selected as Black Label Society’s new guitarist. It’s been an amazing ride performing all around the world with Dario. He is a true professional and an incredible blues-driven artistic guitarist adding so much to the Borden sound.

"It was a privilege for me to have him on my left side for the last four years, and I know Zakk [Wylde], his band and their fans are going to love Dario as we all do. Dario will be missed in the Borden camp, but he will always be one of us and we wish him all the luck in the world — Lizzy"

Lorina released his first solo recording, Dario Lorina, on September 10 through Shrapnel Records. For more about the guitarist, visit his official website.

Wylde and the rest of Black Label Society have been holed up in Wylde's personal recording studio the past few months recording their much-anticipated new album, which is set for a spring 2014 release through EOne. For more about the new album, check out the all-new February 2014 issue of Guitar World, which you can check out HERE.

Stay tuned to or for more information.

Image 1 of 5

Image 2 of 5

Image 3 of 5

Image 4 of 5

Image 5 of 5

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor, and his non-Pulitzer-Prize-winning stories have appeared in Guitar Aficionado, Vintage Guitar, Total Guitar and countless other publications, including 13.7 metric tons of daily newspapers. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton and Ty Tabor chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas (opens in new tab), was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron (opens in new tab), a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (opens in new tab) (one of which appears in the 2015 Disney film 'Tomorrowland' starring George Clooney and Britt Robertson). He's in two NYC-area bands and plays Teles with four-way switches, B-benders and semi-snazzy aftermarket pickups. He quotes Terry-Thomas twice daily.