Max and Iggor Cavalera Reunite

Max and Iggor Cavalera, best known for their work in Brazilian metal legends Sepultura, have reunited and formed the Cavalera Conspiracy. The group will release its first album, Inflikted, on March 25, 2008, on Roadrunner Records.

“Cavalera Conspiracy is about a sense of being unleashed,” Max says. “You bottle a monster for 10 years and then let it out. It’s explosive, and we waited a long time for this beast to be set free.”

Cavalera Conspiracy consists of Cavalera on vocals and rhythm guitar, Iggor Cavalera on drums and percussion, Marc Rizzo on lead and rhythm guitars and Joe Duplantier on bass. Iggor, who recently added a second “g” to his name, says, “When I listen to the album, it sounds old school but new in its own way. It’s a mix of both worlds.”

Inflikted was recorded July 2007 at Undercity Studios in Los Angeles, with former Machine Head guitarist Logan Mader and Lucas Banker of the Dirty Icon production team. The track “Ultra-Violent” features a cameo from Down (and former Pantera) bassist Rex Brown, and “Black Ark” features vocals from Max, Joe and Richie Cavalera, Max’s stepson and singer for Incite.

Inflikted Tracklist

  • “Inflikted”
  • “Sanctuary”
  • “Terrorize”
  • “Black Ark”
  • “Ultra-Violent”
  • “Hex'
  • “The Doom of All Fires”
  • “Bloodbrawl'”
  • “Hearts of Darkness”
  • “Nevertrust”
  • “Must Kill”

For more information, visit