Symphony X guitarist Michael Romeo announces new solo album, War of the Worlds, Pt. 2, premieres anthemic lead single, Divide & Conquer

Michael Romeo of Symphony X performs at The Regency Ballroom on October 5, 2015 in San Francisco, California
(Image credit: Miikka Skaffari/FilmMagic)

Symphony X guitarist Michael Romeo has announced a new solo album, War of the Worlds, Pt. 2.

The sequel to 2018's War of the Worlds, Pt. 1, the album will – like its predecessor – feature bassist John DeServio and drummer John Macaluso, with the new addition of vocalist Dino Jelusick. It's set for a March 25 release via InsideOut Music.

With news of the album came the release of its first single, the appropriately epic Divide & Conquer

Powered by an enthralling mix of pummeling riffage and soaring vocals from Jelusick, Divide & Conquer is topped off with an electrifying solo that – with tapping, impossibly fast picking runs and cinematic melodic motifs – shows that Romeo has plenty of versatility and ingenuity to match his speed and technical skill as a guitarist.

The song is a heck of a mission statement for the album, and you can check out its Wayne Joyner-directed music video below.

"I'm really excited to finally release War of the Worlds, Pt. 2," Romeo said in a press release. "After many delays, lockdowns and new variants, it looks like things are getting back on track." 

“It takes the first record deeper into the journey," Romeo elaborated. "It’s H.G. Wells with modern-day sci-fi, and there’s a lot of super-heavy cinematic music and, obviously, lots of guitars. Put it on and forget where you are. Let’s go somewhere else. The real world will still be here.” 

You can check out War of the Worlds, Pt. 2's cover art and track list below. To preorder the album, head on over to Michael Romeo's website.

The cover of Michael Romeo's forthcoming album, War of the Worlds, Pt. 2

(Image credit: InsideOut Music)

Michael Romeo – War of the Worlds, Pt. 2

1. Introduction - Part II 
2. Divide & Conquer
3. Destroyer
4. Metamorphosis  
5. Mothership
6. Just Before the Dawn
7. Hybrids
8. Hunted
9. Maschinenmensch 
10. Parasite
11. Brave New World (Outro) 

Bonus Tracks: 

12. The Perfect Weapon
13. Alien DeathRay

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Jackson Maxwell

Jackson is an Associate Editor at He’s been writing and editing stories about new gear, technique and guitar-driven music both old and new since 2014, and has also written extensively on the same topics for Guitar Player. Elsewhere, his album reviews and essays have appeared in Louder and Unrecorded. Though open to music of all kinds, his greatest love has always been indie, and everything that falls under its massive umbrella. To that end, you can find him on Twitter crowing about whatever great new guitar band you need to drop everything to hear right now.