Neil Young, Stephen Stills, Josh Homme Appear on 'Echo in the Canyon' Film Soundtrack

Echo in the Canyon, a new documentary that celebrates the fertile mid- to late-Sixties music scene in L.A.'s storied Laurel Canyon neighborhood, also will spawn its own star-studded soundtrack album. You can check out the first single from the disc — Jakob Dylan and Jade Castrino's take on the Mamas and the Papas' "Go Where You Wanna Go" — above.

The soundtrack also features contributions from Neil Young, Josh Homme, Fiona Apple, Beck, Cat Power, Norah Jones, Regina Spektor and Stephen Stills. You can see the complete track list below.

The film — which opens May 24 in L.A. and May 31 in New York — features appearances by Stills, Tom Petty, Eric Clapton, David Crosby, Graham Nash, Brian Wilson and more. The doc, which was produced and directed by former music journalist, record producer and label exec Andrew Slater, traces the music that “shaped the second half of the 20th century.” Among the artists lauded in the film are Buffalo Springfield, the Byrds, the Beach Boys and — of course — the Mamas and the Papas.

The L.A. and New York showings will feature performances by some of the artists who appear in the film. More dates throughout the U.S., as well as a companion soundtrack, are scheduled for June.

Echo in the Canyon soundtrack track list:

1. Jakob Dylan & Jade Castrinos: Go Where You Wanna Go

2. Beck: The Bells of Rhymney

3. Cat Power: You Showed Me

4. Josh Homme: She

5. Fiona Apple: In My Room

6. Beck: Goin’ Back

7. Norah Jones: Never My Love

8. Fiona Apple: It Won’t Be Wrong

9. Regina Spektor: No Matter What You Do

10. Jakob Dylan & Stephen Stills: Questions

11. Neil Young: I Just Wasn’t Made for These Times

12. Regina Spektor: Expecting to Fly

13. Neil Young: What’s Happening

For more information on Echo in the Canyon, watch the trailer below and head here. 

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.