New Nick Lowe Song Streaming Online Now

You can get a taste of the new Nick Lowe album right now at, where they're streaming "Checkout Time." The song is from The Old Magic, Lowe's new album, which is scheduled to be released on Sept. 13 via Yep Roc.

The album, Lowe's first in four years, features a guest appearance by Jimmie Vaughan.

Check out "Checkout Time" right here.

Opening with the line "I'm 61 years old now, Lord I never thought I'd see 30," the song finds a character who bears a strong resemblance to Lowe contemplating his mortality: "Will I be beloved and celebrated for my masterly climb, or just another bum when it comes to checkout time?"

Lowe will join Wilco on the first leg of their 2011 North American tour this fall. Additional solo dates will be announced soon.


  • 9/13 - Indianapolis, IN @ Murat Theatre
  • 9/16 - Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall
  • 9/17 - Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall
  • 9/18 - Montreal, QC @ Metropolis
  • 9/20 - Boston, MA @ Wang Theatre
  • 9/22 - New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage
  • 9/25 - Columbia, MD @ Merriweather Post Pavilion
  • 9/27 - Raleigh, NC @ Raleigh Amphitheater
  • 9/28 - Atlanta, GA @ Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre
  • 9/29 - Atlanta, GA @ Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre
  • 10/1 - Nashville, TN @ The Ryman
  • 10/2 - Nashville, TN @ The Ryman
  • 10/4 - St. Louis, MO @ Peabody Opera House
  • 10/5 - Madison, WI @ Overture Hall

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.