Skip to main content

New Spinal Tap Album Due June 16

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the cult classic film This Is Spinal Tap, and now England's Loudest Heavy Metal Band, Spinal Tap, is celebrating with the release of their first new album in almost two decades, Back from the Dead (The Label Industry Records/Artist2Market/INgrooves). Street date is Tuesday, June 16, 2009. Spinal Tap's last album was 1992's Break Like the Wind.

On Back from the Dead, Tap members David St. Hubbins, Nigel Tufnel and Derek Smalls unearth their long-self-suppressed studio versions of the classic songs from the movie This Is Spinal Tap, as well as six new additional songs, and an exclusive hour-long accompanying DVD featuring a track-by-track video commentary by the band. Back from the Dead also features guest appearances by Phil Collen, Keith Emerson, John Mayer and Steve Vai. "This album title says it all. We're back from the dead. But we weren't dead. But we definitely are back," proclaimed Hubbins.

Back from the Dead is a deluxe CD/DVD package aggressively priced and containing 19 original Spinal Tap songs, a one-hour DVD and unique pop-up diorama package that unveils three 12-inch action figures (courtesy of Sideshow Collectibles) of the band along with a proportionally sized Stonehenge. Back from the Dead is destined to be a collector's item, especially among collectors.

The new album includes the newly interpreted Tap classics "Hell Hole," "Tonight I'm Gonna Rock You Tonight," "Heavy Duty," "Rock 'n' Roll Creation," "America," "Cups and Cakes," "Big Bottom," "Sex Farm," "Stonehenge," "Gimme Some Money" and "(Listen to the) Flower People."

"While the movie and soundtrack accurately represented our stage sound at the time, the studio versions of these songs on this album represent the cosmic maturation of the material, within a digital context. Also, they're louder," stated Smalls.

The new songs recorded specifically for Back from the Dead include "Warmer Than Hell," "Short and Sweet," "Celtic Blues," "Rock 'n' Roll Nightmare," "Back from the Dead" and "the first known studio recording of the soon-to-be-long-forgotten 'Jazz Oddyssey.'"

Back from the Dead once again shows Spinal Tap defies categorization, hop scotching from genre to genre all with moments of brilliance. The album is that perfect combination of Loudness, Vulgarity and a pinch of Evil. Back from the Dead promises to finally give Spinal Tap their rightful place in history as "The true unsung and misunderstood geniuses of Rock 'n' Roll" and they dedicate this new album to all those metal titans the world has come to love—or at least tolerate.

Back from the Dead was produced by CJ Vanston, who arranged and played keyboards on the band's Break Like the Wind album and was musical director for their 1992, 2000 and 2007 tours. As a film composer, he has produced music for Christopher Guest's movies Waiting for Guffman, Best in Show, A Mighty Wind, and For Your Consideration.

Track List:

  • Tonight I'm Gonna Rock You Tonight
  • Back from the Dead
  • (Funky) Sex Farm
  • Rock 'n' Roll Creation
  • Jazz Oddyssey I
  • Gimme Some Money
  • Rock 'n' Roll Nightmare
  • Heavy Duty
  • America
  • Jazz Oddyssey II
  • (Listen to the) Flower People (Reggae Stylee)
  • Hell Hole
  • Big Bottom
  • Celtics Blues
  • Jazz Oddyssey III
  • Warmer Than Hell
  • Stonehenge
  • Short and Sweet
  • Cups and Cakes

In addition to the above 19 songs, fans of Spinal Tap can find a free download for the previously unreleased "Saucy Jack" from Hubbins' unfinished musical about Jack the Ripper on the band's web site,

On June 30, 2009, Spinal Tap will reunite once again for their "One Night Only World Tour" at London's Wembley Arena.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.