New William Shatner Album, 'Ponder the Mystery,' to Feature Steve Vai, Al Di Meola and Robby Krieger

Former Star Trek and T.J. Hooker star William Shatner, 82, has announced another album.

His latest effort, Ponder the Mystery, will feature guest appearances by guitarists Steve Vai, Al Di Meola, Vince Gill and Robby Krieger of the Doors and will be released October 8.

The album, Shatner's fifth, has something of a prog-rock spirit to it. The disc was produced by Billy Sherwood, a former member of Yes, and features appearances by Rick Wakeman, Edgar Winter, George Duke, Dave Koz and Mick Jones — plus the aforementioned guitarists.

When Shatner tours behind the album, he will be backed by a band called Circa, which will feature Sherwood, former Yes keyboardist Tony Kaye, Rick Tierney and Scott Connor.

"I've never adhered to the assumption that oil and water don't mix," said Wakeman in a statement. "Stir them hard enough and add some other ingredients and they certainly will mix."

We're hoping to premiere the Vai/Di Meola/Krieger/Gill tracks as soon as possible!

Ponder the Mystery track listing:

01. Red Shift
02. Where It’s Gone... I Don’t Know with Mick Jones
03. Manhunt with Simon House
04. Ponder The Mystery with Steve Vai
05. So Am I with Al Di Meola
06. Change with Rick Wakeman
07. Sunset with Joel Vandroogenbroeck
08. Twilight with Edgar Winter
09. Rhythm Of The Night with Nik Turner
10. Imagine Things with Vince Gill
11. Do You See? with Edgar Froese
12. Deep Down with Robby Krieger
13. I’m Alright, I Think with Dave Koz
14. Where Does Time Go? with George Duke
15. Alive with Zoot Horn Rollo

NOTE: The video below has nothing to do with Shatner's album. We just like it.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.