The Penny Serfs Premiere New Song, "Lonely" — Exclusive

Today, presents the exclusive premiere of “Lonely,” a new song by Iowa-based indie rock band the Penny Serfs.

The track is from their new album, Like Eating Glass, which will be released January 20.

"Love your guy. Love your girl. Spread it to all of those around," says Michael Loy, the band's lead singer and guitarist. "If they like you even when you are lonely, even in the most desperate of times, never let them go."

The band is rounded out by Andrew Linley (bass, vocals), Stu Tenold (keyboards, vocals) and Kyle Lewis (drums).

"The album is an approach at the idea of a one true love being derailed by the internet paradox: being so connected to everything yet loneliness is everywhere," the band adds.

"All of the songs show the painful reality that every battery must have a positive and a negative. With life must come death, with light must come darkness, and as the sun rises it must always set for the world to keep spinning.”

For more about the Penny Serfs, visit and follow them on Facebook.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.