Skip to main content

Guns N' Roses Confirm Reunion Lineup: Slash and Duff Are Back

For the first time since 1993, a good chunk of Guns N’ Roses’ classic lineup will perform together when they headline the 2016 Coachella Music Festival in April.

According to a new press release (January 5), GNR singer Axl Rose will be joined by Slash on guitar and Duff McKagan on bass.

Although the press release doesn't mention anyone else by name, multiple reports indicate the trio will be joined by members of Guns N' Roses' Chinese Democracy-era lineup. This might (or might not) include keyboardist Dizzy Reed, multi-instrumentalist Chris Pitman, rhythm guitarist Richard Fortus and drummer Frank Ferrer.

Again, there is no mention of guitarist Izzy Stradlin or drummers Steven Adler and Matt Sorum. But who knows what announcements lie ahead; anything is possible. According to Consequence of Sound, Sorum was, at one point, connected to the reunion talks, but (it seems) his poor relationship with Axl led to Ferrer's involvement instead.

Guns N’ Roses also are expected to announce a full U.S. summer tour, so stay tuned for that announcement.

Here's a word-for-word quote from the band's latest press release:

"Upholding a three-decade tradition of breaking ground, creating trends, and forever changing the face of rock ‘n’ roll, Guns N’ Roses announce the most significant and anxiously awaited musical event of this century. Founder Axl Rose and former members Slash and Duff McKagan will regroup to headline the Coachella Music & Arts Festival (April 15-17 & April 22-24)—as announced last night!"

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Damian Fanelli

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas (opens in new tab), was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron (opens in new tab), a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums (opens in new tab). He now plays in two NYC-area bands.