Sweden’s In Flames: New CD Details

Influential heavy metal titans In Flames have completed work on its new album. Entitled A Sense of Purpose, the long awaited record will see an April 1, 2008, North American release date via Koch Records.

The follow-up to the band’s most successful album to date, 2006’s Come Clarity, A Sense of Purpose was recorded at the band’s all new IF Studios in Gothenburg, Sweden. The record was mixed by Toby Wright (Metallica, Slayer) and merges the band’s ambitious, forward thinking songwriting with the familiar harmonized lead guitar melodies that have populated previous In Flames albums such as The Jester Race and Colony.

The roll out song from A Sense of Purpose will be the album’s lead track, “The Mirror’s Truth,” which will see release as a European single on March 7 through the band’s European label, Nuclear Blast Records. The track will be made available worldwide on March 11 via iTunes. In Flames have also tagged “The Mirror’s Truth” as the first music video from the new album.

Track Listing:

  • 1) The Mirror's Truth
  • 2) Disconnected
  • 3) Sleepless Again
  • 4) Alias
  • 5) I'm the Highway
  • 6) Delight and Angers
  • 7) Move Through Me
  • 8) The Chosen Pessimist
  • 9) Sober and Irrelevant
  • 10) Condemned
  • 11) Drenched in Fear
  • 12) March to the Shore

In support of A Sense of Purpose, In Flames will tour North America as one of the featured acts of Gigantour 2008. In Flames has been handpicked by Megadeth’s Dave Mustaine to provide direct support to his legendary metal band on the 29 city tour that will also include Children of Bodom, Job for a Cowboy and High on Fire.

For tour dates, click visit www.guitarworld.com/article/dave_mustaine_announces_gigantour_2008_new_guitarist

In Flames features Björn Gelotte (Guitar), Peter Iwers (Bass), Jesper Strömblad (Guitar), Daniel Svensson (Drums) and Anders Fridén (vocals).

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Guitar World Editors

Since 1980, Guitar World has brought guitarists the best in-depth interviews with great players, along with exclusive lessons, informative gear reviews and insightful columns that help guitarists grow and excel on their instrument. Whether you want to learn the techniques employed by your guitar heroes, read about their latest projects or simply need to know which guitar is the right one to buy, Guitar World is your guide.