Skip to main content

ZZ Top's Billy Gibbons Covers Vintage Fleetwood Mac on New Tribute Album

Just Tell Me That You Want Me: A Tribute to Fleetwood Mac will be released August 14 by Hear Music/Concord.

The album features new covers of 17 classic Fleetwood Mac songs, some of which even dip back into the Peter Green era, courtesy of Billy Gibbons & Co.'s rendition of "Oh Well," Fleetwood Mac's 1969 single. Besides the ZZ Top guitarist, Billy Gibbons & Co. features Blake Mills and Matt Sweeney.

You can listen to Gibbon's gritty cover of "Oh Well," courtesy of Rolling Stone, right here.

Other artists featured on the album include Sonic Youth guitarist Lee Ranaldo with J Mascis of Dinosaur Jr., Best Coast, New Pornographers, Marianne Faithfull, Lykke Li, Karen Elson, Matt Sweeney and Bonnie 'Prince' Billy, Tame Impala, Craig Wedren with St. Vincent, The Kills and MGMT. Check out a complete tracklist below.

The album was produced by Randall Poster and Gelya Robb, the team behind 2011's Rave On Buddy Holly.


  • 01. "Albatross" - Lee Ranaldo Band Featuring J Mascis (4:16)
  • 02. "Landslide" - Antony (3:33)
  • 03. "Before The Beginning" - Trixie Whitley (4:46)
  • 04. "Oh Well" - Billy Gibbons & Co. (4:45)
  • 05. "Rhiannon" - Best Coast (3:07)
  • 06. "Think About Me" - The New Pornographers (2:56)
  • 07. "Angel" - Marianne Faithfull (4:59)
  • 08. "Silver Springs" - Lykke Li (4:11)
  • 09. "Gold Dust Woman" - Karen Elson (5:43)
  • 10. "Storms" - Matt Sweeney And Bonnie 'Prince' Billy (4:46)
  • 11. "Straight Back" - Washed Out (3:44)
  • 12. "That's All For Everyone" - Tame Impala (3:43)
  • 13. "Sisters Of The Moon" - Craig Wedren with St. Vincent (3:45)
  • 14. "Dreams" - The Kills (4:46)
  • 15. "Gypsy" - Gardens & Villa (4:40)
  • 16. "Tusk" - The Crystal Ark (5:30)
  • 17. "Future Games" - MGMT (9:02)
Damian Fanelli

Damian is editor-in-chief of Guitar World magazine. From 1998 to 2014, he was one third of Mister Neutron, an instrumental rock act that toured the universe and elsewhere and released three albums via Austin-based Deep Eddy Records. These days he performs with several New York City-area bands and can often be spotted with one of his many, many, many B-bender-equipped guitars. In past lives he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor – and he still can’t believe he got to write the liner notes for the latest SRV box set.