Video: Arctic Monkeys "Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High" Acoustic

Here's a very cool, stripped down acoustic version of Arctic Monkeys performing "Why You'd Only Call Me When You're High," from their new album, the Mercury Music Prize nominated AM

Hailing from England, Arctic Monkeys started dishing out their infectious form of indie rock in 2002. The band consists of Alex Turner (lead vocals, lead/rhythm guitar), Jamie Cook (rhythm/lead guitar), Nick O'Malley (bass guitar, backing vocals), and Matt Helders (drums, backing vocals). The band has released five studio albums: Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not (2006), Favourite Worst Nightmare (2007), Humbug (2009), Suck It and See (2011) and AM (2013), as well as one live album At the Apollo (2008).

The band recently announced additional North American tour dates. Full list below.

  • 12/1 Vancouver, Canada @ Vogue Theatre – SOLD OUT *
  • 12/2 Vancouver, Canada @ Vogue Theatre – SOLD OUT *
  • 12/3 Seattle, WA @ Key Arena - THE END 107.7 Deck the Hall Ball
  • 12/4 Portland, OR @ Roseland Theatre – SOLD OUT *
  • 12/8 San Diego, CA @ Valley View Casino Center - 91X Wrex The Halls
  • 12/9 Tempe, AZ @ The Marquee *
  • 12/11 Tulsa, OK @ Cain’s Ballroom *
  • 12/12 Columbia, MO @ The Blue Note *
  • 12/13 Milwaukee, WI @ The Rave - FM 102/1 Big Snow Show
  • 12/14 Kansas City, MO @ The Midland - 96.5 The Buzz Stole Xmas

More info at

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Acoustic Nation

Acoustic Nation is written by Laura B. Whitmore, a music industry marketing veteran, music journalist and editor, who has contributed to, Guitar World, and others. She has interviewed hundreds of musicians and hosts the She Rocks Podcast. As the founder of the Women’s International Music Network, she advocates for women in the music industry and produces the annual She Rocks Awards. She is the Senior Vice President of Marketing for Positive Grid, making the world safe for guitar exploration everywhere! A guitarist and singer/songwriter, Laura is currently co-writing an album of pop songs that empower and energize girls.