Doobie Brothers and Brad Paisley Premiere "Rockin' Down the Highway" Lyric Video — Exclusive

Today, presents the exclusive premiere of the official "Rockin' Down the Highway" lyric video by the Doobie Brothers featuring Brad Paisley.

The recording, a reworking of a classic 1972 tune by the Doobie Brothers, is from their new studio album, Southbound, which was released November 4. The album features an impressive list of country-music guest stars, including Paisley, the Zac Brown Band, Black Shelton, Vince Gill, Toby Keith and more. You can see the complete track list below.

As always, be sure to let us know what you think of the song in the comments or on Facebook!

You can get the album now on Amazon. For more information on Southbound, visit

In other Doobies news, the band took the stage last night to perform "Listen to the Music" with Hillary Scott of Lady Antebellum, Jennifer Nettles of Sugarland and Hunter Hayes. They took the stage once again for CMA's encore performance, bringing out Michael McDonald to perform "Takin’ It to the Streets" as Nettles, Hayes and Scott contributed background vocals. Paisley even jumped in on guitar!

Southbound Track List:

  • "Black Water" with Zac Brown Band
  • "China Grove" with Chris Young
  • "Jesus Is Just Alright" with Casey James
  • "Listen to the Music" with Blake Shelton with Hunter Hayes on guitar
  • "Long Train Runnin'" with Toby Keith
  • "Nobody" with Charlie Worsham
  • "Rockin’ Down the Highway" with Brad Paisley
  • "South City Midnight Lady" with Jerrod Niemann
  • "Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While)" with Tyler Farr
  • "Takin’ It to the Streets" with Love and Theft
  • "What a Fool Believes" with Sara Evans
  • "You Belong to Me" with Amanda Sudano Ramirez of the band Johnnyswim with Vince Gill on guitar

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month**

Join now for unlimited access

US pricing $3.99 per month or $39.00 per year

UK pricing £2.99 per month or £29.00 per year 

Europe pricing €3.49 per month or €34.00 per year

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Prices from £2.99/$3.99/€3.49

Damian Fanelli
Editor-in-Chief, Guitar World

Damian is Editor-in-Chief of Guitar World magazine. In past lives, he was GW’s managing editor and online managing editor. He's written liner notes for major-label releases, including Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'The Complete Epic Recordings Collection' (Sony Legacy) and has interviewed everyone from Yngwie Malmsteen to Kevin Bacon (with a few memorable Eric Clapton chats thrown into the mix). Damian, a former member of Brooklyn's The Gas House Gorillas, was the sole guitarist in Mister Neutron, a trio that toured the U.S. and released three albums. He now plays in two NYC-area bands.